I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 16, 2011 - 11:07 p.m.

Blue Monday

Captain's log supplemental: I'm making a entry to write about something not related to NERFA. Well OK I'll mention NERFA but it's really post-NERFA and that's just to give a contrast to the real point of the entry.

This morning started very well. I didn't get quite enough sleep but at least more than I've been getting. I got on the computer emailed myself the tests I'm giving today and wrote an entry of Wise Madness that received a lot of positive attention. People said some very nice things about me. I was getting a lot of post-NERFA attention. I was feeling good. The only problem was that I was enjoying myself so much I started off a bit late to get ready for school. That's when it became a Monday with a vengeance. I know the calendar said it was Wednesday. The calendar was wrong. Today was Monday.

I realized that I had not shaved in 6 days and couldn't go to school that way so I had to shave. I tried doing it quickly. Here's a tip, it isn't good to do things quickly when you have a razor in your hand. I cut myself quite deep. The deepest I've ever cut myself shaving. The styptic pencil was not enough to staunch the flow. I had to use a band-aid. I don't think I've ever had to use a band-aid in all my years shaving with a razor.

When I left the house it wasn't raining but it was threatening. I brought my umbrella. The subway ride was uneventful. When I got out of the subway it was raining. Thanks to the umbrella my head stayed dry but something seems to have gone wrong with my shoes. They attract water to the inside. It wasn't raining hard and I didn't walk through a puddle but my feet were soaked after walking a block. I hate the feel of walking in wet socks.

When I got to my office and put my bag down my water bottle leaked all over the place, the cap had loosened. There are no paper towels in the bathroom and the admin wasn't in so I couldn't see if he had any in the office so I had to grab a wad of toilet paper to sop it up.

I went to my computer to download the tests I had emailed myself. I couldn't log on the computer. It kept saying I had the wrong password. I just used to the day before with no trouble. I went to another computer it see if I could get into my email account. Maybe the problem was with my computer. When I got to my email which uses the same school master password it said the password was wrong.

I called the computer help desk to reset the password. I fortunately got someone good. They often aren't. First I had to get my school ID number. Then came the security question. I knew the answer but I didn't know the question. What is the point of giving a choice of a dozen security questions and having to remember which one you chose? Why not just ask the question? The woman at the help desk agreed with me and simply canceled the security question. After giving some information I was finally able to change the password back to what it used to be. That wouldn't work. They changed the password requirements. I had to shorten the password that I wanted to use before because there was a maximum of 7 characters. Now they made it so it had to be at least 8 characters. I suspect this has something to do with my password being changed. The woman at the help desk said nothing was done but obviously it was changed.

I got into my email and downloaded the tests and printed them out. For reasons unknown there was a 5 minute delay before it started printing. By the time I had everything done I was 10 or 15 minutes late for the test. Good thing the test was short and this was the class that likes me. I had two problems during the test. I found a typo and had to figure out what the question was supposed to be. I couldn't write the question on the board because in my rush I forgot to bring a dry erase marker. Fortunately it was just changing a minus sign to a plus.

The other problem was a student who felt he could just get up and leave the classroom to go to the bathroom. I can't believe that their high school teachers let them do that. Of course it's even easier to arrange to have someone help you in college because the other students aren't all in class. He took it well though when I said he had to ask permission. I gave it to him. I really shouldn't. These are not always students I can trust and in college you should be able to make it through a class without a trip to the bathroom. I have health problems that make it difficult and I do.

Then came the calculus class. I'm sure that some students tried cheating. When I was grading the tech math test and not looking up somebody started whispering. I think I knew who it was but couldn't be sure. Later I looked down for a minute and the whispering started again. I made the student I suspected change his seat. Another student just got up and left for the room without asking. This is not a freshman who doesn't know better. This is a sophomore. He couldn't understand why he couldn't do that.

Then I realized that I forgot to bring my prednisone with me so I missed taking my med when I was supposed to.

When I got home it stopped being Monday. Things stopped going wrong. I graded tests and did laundry and made a great dinner. Thank God It's Wednesday.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 16, 2011
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!