I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

October 06, 2016 - 12:14 p.m.

Blame Jane

I'm getting a late start today but I'm not as upset about that as usual. I slept late because I woke up at 5 AM with a bad cough. I thought I caught something. It kept me up for a while. Then when my alarm woke me up at 8:30 I felt fine but went back to sleep for another hour and a half. I needed that. I'm off the hydroxyzine that has been making me sleepy. Now I'm on Neurontin and feeling more alert. I'm still a bit sluggish but not like I was. I didn't take it till after I got out of bed so it was not why I went back to sleep.

Yesterday I went to see both my therapist and my psychiatrist. That's why I'm on the new meds. The meds are the psychiatrist's responsibility. I told her tired I was and she changed my med. That's a big part of psychiatry, minimizing side effects, more so than in most branches of medicine.

I love both of them. The therapist is so much better than my old one. She addresses my issues and makes me address them. My mantra is that she makes me uncomfortable in the right ways. She also reassures me and keeps me from getting down on myself. Best sign, she got my jokes from the get go. The psychiatrist laughed out loud when I told her that I remember the name hydroxyzine by thinking of it as generic Oreoyzine.

As is my new tradition I went to the Stop & Shop in New Rochelle on the way home. It's much better than the City Island alternatives. When I got home I made jerk chicken for the first time since leaving Brooklyn. As usual I made it perfectly. Don't overcook your chicken. It should be juicy not dry. If I can get one of My Gentle Readers to do that then the fifteen years of blogging are a success. Damn, it's almost 16 years.

After dinner came what I the Met game. I had planned on writing about the Mets before the Wild Card game but didn't because of being busy and my lethargy. So now I write about them after they've been eliminated. Yes, the Mets lost to the Giants. There is no shame in that. Noah Syndergaard, Thor, my favorite player, pitched brilliantly; he gave up no runs and only 2 hits over 7 innings. Unfortunately, he was facing Madison Bumgarner the greatest big game pitcher of our time. Bumgarner gave up no runs and pitched a complete game. He has NEVER given up a run in a win or go home game. That is just plain ridiculous. Addison Reed was shaky but gave up no runs in the eighth. Then in the ninth Jeurys Familia gave up a three run home run in the ninth and the Mets lost.

Do not blame Familia even though he failed in the World Series too. He is not a big game pitcher. Don't blame Terry Collins. No, all the blame rests on Jane. Who? You know the wonderful woman that took in this your humble diarist when he had nowhere to go. She's the nicest person in the world but this loss was all her fault. She was out at a seminar last night. I watched the game and texted her updates. She and Bernie got home just as the 8th inning ended. They had been listening in the car. When she came in I told her it's all up to her. I kept the Mets in the game for eight innings now it was her responsibility. She gets the win if the Mets win and the loss if they Mets lost. I got a no-decision just like Syndergaard. Jane walks in and boom. It was all over. It's Jane's fault but it is not a moral failing. The best hitters fail seven times out of ten. It's the breaks of the game. She didn't slack off. She gave her full effort but sometimes that's not enough.

Met fans do not be disheartened. The Mets had no business making the Wild Card Game. They Mets projected starting rotation this year was Harvey, Syndergaard, deGrom, Matz, and Wheeler. Wheeler was DLed to start the season but the plan was for him to come back. The only one pitching at season's end was Thor. Yet the Mets played brilliantly in September thanks to the ageless Bartolo Colon and unheralded AAA players, Gsellman and Lugo. They lost their captain David Wright early on. Neil Walker was led the team in Wins Above Replacement and he got injured. This was a team held together with spit and baling wire and the surged to make the Wild Card game.

I was against signing Terry Collins. I was wrong. He has managed brilliantly. No it's not a matter of his tactics. More important that managing the strategy a manager manages the players. He got this team playing their hardest and playing smart when most teams would have given up. He didn't fall in love with some players and put others in the dog house. Jay Bruce, the Mets big trade deadline acquisition was a total bust. Collins rested him for a few games and explained to Bruce it was to give him time to get straightened out. Bruce did come back and carried the team the last week. Terry was not afraid of letting career minor leaguer T.J. Rivera who was doing great in Las Vegas this year get a shot. He responded by hitting .333 with an OPS of .821. Collins gets my vote for manager of the year.

I'm usually a pessimist about the Mets and I'm usually right. But now I'm excited for next year. They should have the rotation planned for this year and Colon, Gsellman, and Lugo waiting in the wings to fill in. I don't think Wright will ever come back as a star so I'd love for them to sign a third baseman and they don't have a legitimate centerfielder and hare weak at first base. But they do have pitchers and corner outfielders to spare as trade bait. I'm proud of what the Mets accomplished this year and I'm looking for better things next year. As for this post-season. Go Cubs Go! They are a historically great team. Theo Epstein the architect of the BoSox champion teams has done it again. The Cubs have not won it all since 1908 when they had Three-Finger Brown and Tinkers to Evans to Chance. It's time they win again.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile October 06, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!