I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me โ€” that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter โ€” except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 28, 2017 - 12:09 p.m.

Why Life Doesn't End on Closing Day

Yesterday was the Mets' last home game of the season and I was there. There was a time that was not at all remarkable, I did it most seasons for year. Opening day is the best but the last home game is also special even after a season as disappointing as this one. We put a cap on the season and say; Wait till next year! Alan gave me a choice of games to go to this week and I chose this one.

I originally planned on going very early and watching batting practice but decided against it. The Mets and Braves have nobody exciting to watch during BP. It's not like when Mark McGwire would put on a show and I'd always make sure to go to BP when he was playing. Alan never arrives till right before the first pitch and I didn't want to hang out so long by myself after BP so I decided to leave just early enough that I could grab dinner in Flushing before the game and still be there in time for the national anthem. As much as I love a hot dog at the game it's too pricy. Who can guess why I wanted to be there for the National Anthem? It was so I could stay seated during it in solidarity with the athletes taking a knee. I would take a knee but there isn't room in the stands and it would hurt on concrete wearing shorts. I was originally going to raise my fist in the black power salute as some players have but decided against it when I read a column on how kneeling is a sign of respect and caring. Players take a knee when a player gets injured. The raise fist is far more confrontational. If I were black it might be different but it felt like it would be posing if I did it; so, I sat. I also put my hand over my heart. I was disappointed that nobody else sat. I couldn't see if any of the players took a knee as there were people standing in front of me but I suspect they didn't. When the NBA season starts I expect to see more protests and I will remain seated with my hand over my heart. I could even bring a pad and take a knee in an aisle. I'll think about it. I want to see the fans involved. I want to see whites involved.

I just realized that I should have gotten there early as I originally planned so I would have time to go to the Mets Hall of Fame. I haven't been there in years. It was added to Citi Field the second season after the Mets caught so much flak for ignoring the team's history in the new stadium. Surprisingly, they did an excellent job on it.

I ran into somebody I haven't seen in 7 to 10 years at the Mets-Willets point subway station, Jeff who used to be in my fantasy baseball league. I saw him with peripheral vision and got that idea he looked familiar. I was just past him when I decided it was him. I took a good look, he said, "Gordon?" Good thing as I totally blanked on his name. I knew his name it just wouldn't come. The reason I know it now is I texted Mark, described who I saw and he had the recall. What's worse is I couldn't remember his name again just now. I had to look at the text again. It is difficult not having a brain.

When I took my seat, I texted Alan where I was sitting. There's no need to sit in your assigned seat at the upper deck of City Field. We moved over a few sections to behind the plate where we have an obstructed view. We have sat in the same seats the last four games I went. Alan texted me back that he'd be late, close to 8:00; first pitch was 7:10. That was disappointing as hanging out with Alan is one of the best part of going to the game. He wasn't delayed, he just wanted to go swimming before the game. Alan goes to 60 Met games a year but he has no problems with arriving late or leaving early. Not me; even when we I had season tickets I wanted to be there for every pitch of every game. He ended up making good time and arrive at 7:40.

The Met regulars are for the most part hurt or traded away. The two players I most want to see are the prospects, late season call-ups, Amed Rosario and Dom Smith. They were both rested. Then with two men on Dom was brought in to pinch hit. He's had mixed results. He's adjusted his swing to more of an uppercut which has cost him contact but added power. The Met announcers don't approve but I do. It will take him time to get used to it but his lack of power was a liability as a first baseman without plus fielding or speed. I decided that I'd try to catch his swing. I took rapid fire pictures as a pitch was delivered. Here is the last picture in the sequence.


I wish I had been able to take one more. He was just starting his swing here. He made contact and launched the ball into the Coca Cola Corner over right field, a home run. Sometimes you get lucky. The Mets won 7โ€“1, a nice closeout to the season.

In the old days the players would come out and take a bow and throw their caps in the stand. The team would thank the players on the scoreboard. I waited around for that. There was nothing. I'm sorry, if fans hang around after the last out of a meaningless game that wasn't close on the last day of the season they deserve to be acknowledged. The Mets' management is so bad at that aspect of the game.

This was the first season in years I've gone to quite a few games and it was their worst season in ages. That's my luck but it's still baseball and I still love it.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 28, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!