I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 18, 2017 - 11:27 a.m.

We Have Met the Baseball Team and They are Mets

I slept late so have an excuse to eat before I write but I care so much about My Gentle Readers that I'll go hungry rather than make you wait. If I die of starvation first this plan will not work out well. If you find my body with the computer on my lap please post this on Diaryland and a link on Facebook. I'm longed into both sites and they are bookmarked.

Yesterday I went to the Met game with Alan. For years that was something that happened at least 20 times a year, sometimes closer to 60; now it's been four or five years. I hope this is a harbinger of us reconnecting. I'm going to go to a game with him next month too. Alan has season tickets to the Mets, Jets, Knicks, and Rangers, and going to Met and Knick games with him was a major part of my life.

I often complain about the inconvenience of City Island but it's easier to get to Citi Field from here than from Brooklyn. It's easier to get to Citi Field than it is to most places in Manhattan. Sure, it's two buses and a subway ride but each leg is short. I get nostalgic every time I go back to Queens; it's where I grew up. I prefer Brooklyn and consider myself a misplaced Brooklynite but my roots will always be in my native borough.

My original plan was to get there in time for batting practice but I decided against it. I still got there well before Alan. He arrives just before first pitch. I got there almost an hour before then. I explored the stadium first. I'm an idiot, I should have gone to the Mets' Hall of Fame. I haven't been there in years. Oh well, next time. I did go to the renamed Pepsi Porch, it's now the Coke Corner. They have a Wii type batting game. It is very difficult. I did not get a hit. Neither did the two other guys I saw play. The one woman who played got two home runs. I at least made contact, the other men didn't.

Alan changed his seat since the last time I went with him. He used to be in row 12 on the upper deck, now he's in row 2. Alan has different priorities when it comes to seats that I do. He cares most about being on the aisle. That is more important than the view. This is what I saw from my seat.

They claim the stadium has no obstructed views. I think that word doesn't mean what you think it means. Is it just me or is that ridiculous? I brought my real camera but because of the view never used it. That did not seriously detract from my enjoyment. I was at a Met game. I was with Alan. We were back in our old routine; that made it a great evening. We have rituals. We predict the final score before the game. At the end of seven innings we say if we can still get the exact score. At the end of the eighth we say if our score is on the out of town scoreboard. We discuss politics and ridiculous trivia. We also watch the baseball game. The Mets were playing the Cardinals. The pitching matchup was Wheeler vs Wainwright. Neither is having a very good year. It looked like it would be a high scoring game. There was no score through four, both pitchers were brilliant. Then came the bottom of the sixth. Conforto, the Mets' best player hit a solo home run. Unlikely, but I thought it might be all they needed. Then came the top of the sixth. The wheels fell off the bus. The Cardinals scored six runs. It wasn't pretty. The Mets got two back on the bottom of the inning through a home run by Duda and a double by Reyes. Reyes scored on the double thanks to two Cardinal errors. That was exciting, Reyes motored. And then… that was it. No more scoring. There was no joy in Metville. It was still well worth it. I saw a game, hung out with Alan, made a fool of myself at the virtual batting cage, and ate Nathan's hot dogs and fries. If that's not enough to make you happy you are too demanding.

If the game was five minutes shorter I'd have gotten home half an hour earlier. I just missed the Q50 bus and they come every half hour. After that it was easy. The timing works out with the bus to City Island, I waited just four minutes for it. The game ended around 10:30 and I was home by midnight. I would like to go to more games.

What's on the agenda today? I think it's just going to my PO box and grocery shopping. I might do a double header, Trader Joe's then Aldi. I just did the logistics in my head and it works out well. Remind me to get American cheese. You won't. I stopped and put it on my shopping list.

I got some good news. I thought I had to miss the next Folk Fights Back because it was the day of my birthday party. It's been rescheduled to August. I can go. Musicians that I invited to my party that couldn't go because they were playing can go. This is a win-win. Don't make plans for August 20, that's the new date for Folk Fights Back. The proceeds go to the National LGBT Cancer Network. The music is always special.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 18, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!