I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 28, 2013 - 11:56 a.m.

Free Parking

Trying something different today. It was a beautiful Memorial Day and I celebrated by walking through Prospect Park. I took pictures and I turned them into a movie. I chose the music because that was what I was singing to myself. It has nothing to do with the park but it fits. The captions are what I was thinking at the time. I hope you enjoy it. Let me know if you do. Maybe I'll do it again.

I love parks and we need them. We need the Yellowstones, the forever wild Adirondacks, the Prospect Parks, and the little park in your neighborhood. Some are nature untouched. Some are a man's vision. In some people are guests, in others part of the wildlife But they all give us something vital. Many people never get a chance to leave the City. Many don't have a yard to enjoy the simple pleasure of a barbecue. But a City Park is everybody's yard and we all get to enjoy it. You can see how many people enjoyed Prospect Park yesterday. But still the park held places I could be alone. Some might think a park is the antithesis of civilization but it makes us more civilized.

Before I left I asked Katherine, who lives on the other side of the Park to join me. She was busy and didn't get my message. Instead I embraced the joys of solitude. I have always loved my walks through nature by myself.

I starts on the south side and made my way North. I was considering northeast to Blue Marble Ice Cream. I wasn't exactly sure where I was in the park or how far I was from it so I took my phone out to check Google Maps. I then saw that Katherine messaged me and invited me to join her and her husband Robert. They were at a bar and were going to eat. I wasn't sure how long it would take me to get there. And then my phone went wonky, to use the technical term. I went from five bars to zero in an instant. I turned the phone off and back on and got back to five bars but lost it as soon as I tried to do something. This kept happening. I thought perhaps it was the cell tower. I walked out of the park to Grand Army Plaza; same thing. I got worried it was my phone. I walked another block and things were fine. It was a cell tower. I had no idea they covered so much space. I was able to send call Katherine and she said it wasn't too late and I should join them. It took about 20 minutes. The bar was the Sea Witch, we were outside in the garden. Katherine and Robert were sitting with their friends Oscar and Kate. Are you impressed I remembered their names? I am . I got a mnemonic. they are both the names of people in famous sitcom pairs, Oscar & Felix and Kate & Allie. We had a very nice conversation then Oscar and Felix, I mean Allie , I mean Kate, left. As soon as they did I heard my name. It was Seth who had just walked in. He couldn't see me till Felix and Allie walked away. I think I have run into Seth more times than all my other friends combined. Maybe he's stalking me. Who can blame him. I'm such a sexy sexy monotreme. I knew Seth knew Katherine but I didn't know from where. They knew, it was from the Tracy Grammer house concert at Seth and Chris's house. So now I had another great conversation. Seth was joined by his friend Abbie. Yes I know her name too. You might get fooled into thinking I had a brain but no fear; I'm still cephalically challenged. We just had a conversation guessing her full name and I talked about the able Abbie Gardner.

Finally after talking for about seven years Robert, Katherine, and I went to Toby's for dinner. The Sea Witch's chef got sick so the kitchen was closed. I had an excellent thin crust prosciutto pizza. Right before it came out I got a phone call. It was from Mark. They are both musicians and he knows Katherine. It really is a small world I was called in to help their daughter with a math problem. I am good if I have to say so myself. She gave me part 1 of he question without saying there were more parts. It was finding the height of a projectile thrown in the air at time t=0. They were given the formula for the height, h=20t+4.9t�. When I explained it she thought it was too easy. I always tell my students on problems like this, It IS easy. Nobody ever said it had to be hard. The other parts are harder and I patted myself on the back for knowing what they were before she told me. I told her. They were; find the maximum height the projectile reached and when did it hit the ground?

I got friends and math in one paragraph, Pretty good.

After dinner it was aboug 10:30 so I headed home. It isn't the easiest trip from there.

I did something else not stupid. I started uploading the video when I started writing, It wasn�t ready when I got to that part. I wrote in italics insert video here,. What am I proud of? I remembered to actually insert the video.

If you want to see the photos at your own speed here's the link.
Prospect Park Memorial Day 2013


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 28, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!