I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 26, 2015 - 11:40 a.m.

Megahouseconcert

I am being picked up in an hour and forty minutes. Can I finish this, eat breakfast, and get ready by then? I guess we'll find out. I really should make breakfast first as that I can't leave in the middle; while this I can pick up when I get home late tonight. But if I write now it motivates me to write and not miss a day. OK I’m going to eat. Don't go anywhere. Listen to John Platt's Sunday Breakfast on WFUV till I get back.

I'm back. It took me exactly a half an hour to cook and eat breakfast and get back to writing. From the stony silence it received I think people found yesterday's entry disturbing. I guess that was the point. Today's is much happier.

Yesterday I went to see Meg Braun do a house concert at Coco and Bruce's. Meg's a good friend, Coco and Bruce are good friends, many of Meg's friends are also my friends, so I decided this was going to be my birthday party take two. So I invited friends of mine to come and I ended up with more friends there than my actual party. Fred & Linda, Erika & Arthur, Carolann & Mark, and Dan & Phyllis all came. Erika & Arthur even brought me a birthday present and it was exactly my size … chocolate.

Coco and Bruce live just 3.67 miles from me the weather was beautiful, so I walked; that always makes me feel virtuous. I'm just a soul who tries to be good. I know the exact distance because I record it on Map My Walk.

Guess who the first one to arrive was? I'm always early and I was walking and gave myself some leeway. I didn't need it. I grabbed seats on the couch for me and Fred. I thought it was good for photography. OK I just can't resist a comfy couch.

I knew there would be good food served and I wasn't disappointed. Erika, Arthur, Fred, Linda, and I ate it out on the patio along with two guests we didn't know. I love eating with friends. As much as I love food conversation is an important part of a balanced diet, not so much breakfast.

I guess everyone doesn't know who Meg is. Meg is one of the flock of good friends that flew from New York to Nashville. That was just in the spring and now was back for the show. I still missed her. Nashville I know we share a name but that doesn't mean you can steal my friends and musicians. To make it even harder on me Meg's most recent CD, Restless Moon took it to a whole new level. It's great. I bet her next album will be even better and I'll have to wait for her to come to New York to hear the songs as she writes them.

So know what I don't like about Meg. I haven't come up with a hook to describe her music. She's a cute chick with a guitar. OK that narrows it down to only 45% of the acoustic music you'll hear. Let me try this. Meg does not have the kind of voice that usually sings her kind of music. Her voice is not sweet and soft. She doesn't talk on key. Not that there's anything wrote with those styles. Her voice is powerful. She sings with confidence. She commands the stage. Not so surprising that works on a murder ballad like Holland Town my favorite song on the album, but it also works on the intimate and personal June 15th, 1935 my other favorite song on the album.

I knew going home was going to be a hassle as the train was skipping the closest stop. But I also knew I could probably get a ride. I did, from Arthur and Erika. I told them I'd be right with them. I then spent 20 minutes saying goodbye to people. I found out that I missed a wonderful message from Coco on my birthday. I am going to have to go through my timeline and see what else I missed.

Of course I also talked to Carolann and Mark and they are the ones picking me up in 29 minutes. I have totally become my mother. She could never leave somebody's house either. We all notice how we've become our parents.

See I can write a happy entry. It's not all doom and gloom. I was thinking about this line from Cat Ballou"I'm going to teach you a great lesson; that you can take a beating and live." I already knew that lesson and it helps. As I was walking I kept thinking of a line from this song. You can guess which one.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 26, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!