I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 02, 2013 - 1:22 p.m.

Crepe Me Out

Maybe I should get more coffee before I write this, I�m sleepy. I already had a large coffee and I don�t want to spend the time getting it so I�ll try and tough it out. Here�s irony, right after writing that I fell asleep. It was for only 10 or 15 minutes but it might happen again.

I bought coffee. I�m at school that�s why I didn�t make coffee. I�m feeling better.

Now for today�s bitch. Our new computers have an annoying bug/feature. Our computers are shared and networked. We each have our own account we have to log into to. The problem is many people don�t log out. That used to be a minor annoyance. You�d just click �change user� and log on. Now if someone leaves without logging out and it goes into idle mode when you touch something and it comes alive there is no option to change user. Only the last person to use it can log on. The only way around it that I�ve found is to unplug the computer and do a hard reboot. I wish that would wreck the other person�s account but it doesn�t. Is this any way to run a school of technology? If and when the admin comes in I�ll see if he can get IT to change that. Of course IT has not been able to get me a phone that works since we moved to this office over a year ago. Is it two years? Maybe. I�m going to call IT now so I can make fun of how they handle it. She handled it well. She didn�t tell me to live with it. She said they�d fix it. Let�s see if they do.

OK this is great. A student is asking another professor for some extra consideration about his mid-term paper. He starts by saying, �I didn�t put in a lot of effort on it.� Don�t students have any idea how that kind of things sound? He seems to think that�s an excuse for doing poorly.

I spent all of yesterday alone but didn�t feel as bad as I�ve been feeling lately even though all the causes are still there. There was even a new source of stress. I have therapy on Mondays. It is very easy to get to, a straight run on the Q train. I got to the train in plenty of time. There were a lot of people on the platform which usually means the train is coming soon. I walked down to the back end of the station. I looked down to see if there was a train coming. I saw the headlights of both a local and an express. One problem, they weren�t moving. They were just sitting at the previous station which is in sight of mine. I texted my shrink and told her I might be late and I waited. And I waited. And I waited. Then they finally made an announcement there was switching/signal problem at Prospect Park. Then they announced that all trains would run express and that we should take the next outbound train and catch the express there. Everybody did that. When we got there it was a B train, not the Q train I needed. There was a Q stuck on the local track, the one I had seen. I figured the B would go out and another Q would switch to the express tracks and we�d get on that. I stayed on the platform. Then everybody got off the B and started going onto the Q that was sitting there. I joined them and even got a seat. It was then announced that there were no express trains, everything was running local but that we�d be sitting there for a while. Ten seconds later the door closing signal came then the doors closed and we headed out; first stop, the station I started out. Now I have no problems with how they handled the engineering. They did what they had to do. First they tried getting the express tracks working but they couldn�t and switched to the local. That�s fine. That�s engineering, you try A and if A doesn�t work you try B. My problem was the communications. They should have never said, �You won�t be moving for a while� then leave 10 seconds later. �We don�t know when you will be moving� was what they should have said.

The upshot was I got to the City too late for therapy and rescheduled for today. Let�s see how well you know me. What did I do in lieu of the therapy that I so badly needed? We�ll see who has been paying attention. Come on I don�t want to always see the same hands up. You in the back, what I did I do? You got it, chocolate. I went to Max Brenner�s. That was a whole new frustration. I sat down at the bar and got a menu fairly quickly. First off the menu is idiotic, far too decipher. There�s a food menu and a sweets and drink menu. I wanted sweets I looked there. I specifically wanted the chocolate peanut butter crepe. It wasn�t there. They had other crepes and waffles but not the one I wanted.. I was crestfallen. I then thought of looking at the food menu. It was in there. What are they thinking? �Let�s put crepes in two different places just to confuse people. That should be fun to watch.� I then had to wait for someone to take my order. And I waited. And I waited, and I waited. And then I waited some more. Finally someone took my order. It takes almost no time to make a crepe. I expected it soon and I waited. And I waited, and waited. I took the times out. Read the opinion page. Still no crepe. Finally 26 minutes after I sat down she comes to me and asked, �You ordered the chocolate peanut butter crepe?� She then started to make it. I got it half an hour after I sat down. I go into one of the specialty crepe places and I get it in 5 minutes, maybe 10 if there are people in front of me. I didn�t even get an �I�m sorry it took so long.� But, the crepe was amazing. . The menu doesn�t tell you that it comes with a scoop of ice cream. That�s a bonus. The secret ingredient is caramel coated rice crispies. The texture transforms it. The bad thing is that it isn�t served on a plate. That is a flat disk. The chocolate can run off it. It did, onto my pants. Why idiocy gets them to serve something that runs on a surface with nothing to hold it in? They chose a look over function. The bad service and stained pants couldn�t ruin the chocolate high. I should found the chocolate school of psychology. Who wants to sign up for my therapy? Now everyone�s hand is up, even the people that don�t need therapy.

I�ve written over a thousand words. I thought of this as a brief preface. How did that happen? Now I can�t write my meaningful political/philosophical insights. I heard that. Don�t you dare breathe a sigh of relief.

I missed the opening day of the baseball season. That is so sad. And the Mets won too.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 02, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!