I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 14, 2012 - 3:10 p.m.

Soup to Nuts .. I'm one of the nuts

I've already gone out for breakfast today, come back, and taken a nap. That's pretty much a full day for me. Now it's time to write.

I was going to say I had an idiot story but it really isn't. It's a miscommunication story between two people who knew better and should have avoided it. I'm one of the two people.

I got an email yesterday morning from my nephew Max. He's in Brooklyn and asked if I wanted to meet tomorrow. I said yes. I was looking forward to it. Then later in the day I got an email from him saying that he waited for me and I didn't show up. I read the email yesterday (Monday) so for me tomorrow meant Tuesday. The thing is he sent it on Sunday night so for him tomorrow meant (Monday). We both should have realized the possibility for that. We both usually do. We both usually write things like "tomorrow (Monday) to make things clear. He didn't do that this one time and I didn't think to ask about it this one time. We really are related. We made up for it by meeting for breakfast today. He got to have real New York bagels. He lives in LA.

Today we actually met along with his girlfriend Caila and their dog Sam. Yes I even remembered the name of the dog. Give me a cookie � how about a dog biscuit? After breakfast we took Sam for a walk in Fort Greene Park. I have not walked the park before even though I live only few blocks from it. I need to explore the neighborhood better. The walk of course was just an excuse to keep our feet moving while we had neuro conversations. Caila was part of the conversations. Sam wasn't. I don't know what was up with him? Maybe he's just snooty.

I walked them back to their hotel which is not far from me. I had no idea where there was a hotel in the neighborhood though I knew they had to be here. So if you want to stay near me but not with me I now know a convenient hotel.

Last night for dinner I did more experimenting. I made the bacon/potato/garlic soup but I tried a variation. I bought a variety of peppers at the farmer's market in Union Square and put one of them in the soup. I would have liked to have tried a bit of each but I think that would have made them go bad faster. I used a hot Jamaican pepper. I was a bit afraid it might get stuck in my intestine because of my Crohn's disease so I chopped it very finely. I also chopped up a Taylor ham and threw it in. That was interesting. Every spoonful tasted different depending on how the ingredients were mixed in it. Most importantly nothing got stuck in my small intestine.

I bet you don't read other blogs where people talk about food getting stuck in their ileum.

And now for more catching up on thoughts. There are people that irrationally like me. This isn't putting myself down. It isn't that I don't deserve to be liked. It's people that don't know me well but immediately like me. Sometimes I love that, they are people that I irrationally like. Sometimes I hate it and it feels like stalking. Sometimes it's nice, they aren't creepy about it but I don't feel the same way about them. Does this happen to everyone? I have to ask because how else will I know? There is one person that I had met only once or twice who I ran into who grabbed me and asked me to join her for dinner. Just thinking about that makes me feel good. I hope there are times I make other people feel like that.

I'm going to keep this one short. I don't have to write 1,000 words. I'll stop at 665.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 14, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!