I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 07, 2014 - 12:13 p.m.

Shopping Cart of Perceptual Difficulties

Wow I slept super late today. Thanks to having to run to the bathroom a lot and running out of nasal strips I had a lot of trouble sleeping last night. My alarm woke me at 8:30 to play Question of the Day, I didn't like the question, and I went back to sleep and didn't wake up again till 11:00. Now I have to rush to write. So much for doing my laundry before I go to therapy today.

Now perhaps that's good as yesterday was one of the horrible I can't get anything done days, including doing the aforementioned laundry. As I often do on those days I forced myself to go to Trader Joe's. Eating is a good motivation. OK here's something I've been meaning to write about for ages, shopping cart etiquette and idiocy. People are the same in supermarkets as they are driving. There are always people that block traffic. They will leave the cart in a spot nobody can get around while they go off to grab something. Now I'd say they are inconsiderate but it might be a perception problem. They just can't understand that the place they left their cart is a bottle neck. Trader Joe's has two kinds of shopping carts, the big ones that all supermarkets have and the small double decker ones that I always use. When you are finished shopping they have separate places to put the two kinds of cart. So many people put them in the wrong spot. Now again you might think this is from just not caring but I saw a guy repeatedly try to push his large cart into the back of the small carts. He shoved, it wouldn't go in,. He shoved again, it wouldn't go in. He shove a third time, it wouldn't go in. Then it dawned on him to try the other line of carts and of course it fit. He worked hard at being considerate he just couldn't understand that the carts had to stack with their own kind.

Now that it's baseball season one of the first things I do every morning is check to see how my fantasy baseball team is doing. At the end of the first week my team, and yours, the Nashional Batnoses are in the fifth place. This is one of the only times, maybe the first, we are in the first division at the end of the first week. I realized why today. I don't look at the first week's stats at all at the draft. Most players do though. That means players that are having a good week have their prices higher than I think they are worth and players having bad weeks go for less. So I end with more players off to bad starts.

Now I remember what I want to write about and I'm not going to write about it. It's the book I'm reading Raising Steam but I want to finish it fast so I might as well wait till I have. Tomorrow I'm going to get back my copy of Wise Man's Fear that I left in Sara's car the night of the Richard Shindell show. I want to have it finished before I resume reading that.

So I will talk about food. Yesterday I tried an experiment for breakfast. When I wrote about making Matzoh Brei Paul asked if it was pancake or scrambled style. I had never heard of different styles. It turns out I make pancake. I scramble the egg then whisk in the pieces of matzoh. I pour it into the pan and fry it. Paul likes it scrambled and I tried it. First you put the matzoh in the pan and pour the egg over it and then instead of leaving it undisturbed and flipping it over you keep mixing it around like scrambled eggs. It's akin to the difference between an omelet and scrambled eggs. As I made it, it dawned on me that when I was a kid and didn't eat eggs that might have been how my mother made it. When I made it, it looked familiar. But when I was older she only made it pancake style.

Either way I call what I make "Matzoh Brei to Make Your Bubbe Cry." I dice Taylor ham and mix it into the batter and I fry it in bacon fat. It comes out amazing

As for yesterday's experiment I found it good but harder to eat I couldn't get it to stay on the fork But it was different enough that it might enter my breakfast rotation.

OK now to make today's breakfast and get the day going. Today I must do laundry. But it will have to wait till after therapy. I won't have time before. Let's see how much I can read today.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 07, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!