I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 05, 2012 - 11:38 a.m.

Fourth of July Madison Square Park (Not Sandy)

How did I celebrate the Independence Day? Hint, I'm me, how do I celebrate? I went to a concert at Madison Square Park. I should point out that I love fireworks watched them every year for decades. The only reason I didn't was lack of someone to see them with. If they moved the Macy's back to the east river I'd have gone because I could watch them from Brooklyn.

Playing at the park were Noam Pikelny and Friends (including Aoife O'Donovan), the Sweetback Sisters, and Spuyten Duyvil. Chris invited me to join him and his friends for the show. I just missed my train so they beat me there and staked out real estate for us down front by the stage. I added my tarp to the mix. It took a while but we ended up needing all the tarps for the group.

In some ways this was a rerun of Saturday at Caramoor, both were outdoor shows produced by Maggi featuring Spuyten Duyvil in very hot weather. That is not a complaint. The only bad part was the heat. I love Maggi and Spuyten Duyvil.

After settling down and talking to Chris and Seth for a bit I went over to say hi to Maggi and whoever else I knew "backstage." As I was talking to Maggi a young woman put an all access pass around my neck. I guess she figured if I was back there and Maggi knows me I rate one. The passes are magical, why? They give access to the secret bathroom. No I won't tell you where it is, I'd have to kill you then. I said it was secret.

There was a weird looking art installation right in the middle of what is usually the audience. I asked Maggi about it and went from being annoyed to intrigued when she explained it. It is called "Pet Sounds." There are weird sculptures and when you pet them they make sounds from the Beach Boys' album of the same name. Part of the fun is that you look perverted when you stroke them to get them to sing. If you are in the park give it a try.

When I got to back to the tarp some guy tried to it down next to us and the person on his other side wouldn't let him. She had put sneakers down and was saving a spot for someone else but there was plenty of room for two people. The guy moved past her and when he did I realized it was Richard and called him. He didn't hear me but Chris who is younger and stands up easier ran over to him and brought him back to our tarps. Later he was joined by Viki. So there I was a Madison Square Park in the front row with Richard and Chris and seeing a band with Aoife in it. You know what I did exactly five years before? I was at Madison Square Park on tarp with Richard and Chris seeing Crooked Still, a band with Aoife in it. See history does repeat itself.

I have written tons about Spuyten Duyvil including earlier this week so I'll just say that they were great as usual.

I knew I had seen the Sweetback Sisters before but didn't know where. I just checked used the Wise Madness search, did you know there was one at the bottom of the page? And saw that the opened for Crooked Still back in 2009. I didn't write anything about them. I'm not going to write much now either. They are talented but not my cup of tea. I can see someone loving them, just not me.

Noam Pikelny is part of the Punch Brothers. The and friends is his side project. They play more traditional bluegrass. I love bluegrass. I love banjo. I love mandolin. I love Aoife. So you figured I'd love the band. Wait for other shoe to drop. I did love the band! So there. Bluegrass fits the definition of serious music that I've been using here recently. To get the full payoff on it you have to listen carefully. The themes are developed and you have to pay attention to appreciate that. It appeals to the mind not just the senses. Yet people think of it as unsophisticated country bumpkin music. They are wrong.

When I went over to talk to Aoife after the show I ran into Kristin Andreassen. It's been far too long since I've seen her. I told her about Pet Sounds and we went over to play with it. So what happened? It didn't work. I felt so stupid but then we figured it out. They turned it off during the concert and didn't turn it back on yet. I looked for Maggi to see if she could do something about it but couldn't find her. Kristin says she believes me. I believed her when she said it.

After the show I didn't know what to do. I didn't want to cook in the heat when I got home so I went to Popeye's. I am becoming less fond of it. I should have chosen someplace else.

Today's plan is to see Aubrey then go to the Met game. Originally Alan was going to pick me up at Aubrey's. That was why I chose to go today. But last night I found out he couldn't and it takes an hour to get from Aubrey's too Citi field even though they aren't that far apart. The problem is that the subway doesn't go out to Little Neck and the bus doesn�t go to the LIRR station. I think I'm going to have to call a car service to take me to the railroad.

I had trouble reading emails again but once again overcame them. Lots of both anxiety has to do with Christopher Street Coffee House business. Then when I overcome it I get energized. It really is my natural milieu. I'm bursting with ideas. Not only that but I'm able to act on them. It's the best therapy for me. The same with The Budgiedome. I'm writing and talking to people at a fast pace. I love it. My hope is that as I immerse myself in it I'll forget to feel anxious. If I get an email from Bob Dylan saying he wants to play Christopher Street I'll just open it and say, "Get back to you on that as soon as I find time Bob. Let's do lunch."

Speaking of lunch. I'm hungry. I better make my brunch. It's poached eggs and Taylor ham day.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 05, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!