I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 20, 2015 - 12:10 p.m.

Slow Day at the Blog Mill

So yesterday I had the very exciting edition of Wise Madness, I am the Evening DJ WFDU. But now today I have to write about yesterday when I did nothing but enjoy writing about the day before and enjoyed people's reaction to my stint as a DJ. I never left the house. Yes that's not good. I should have taken a walk. I should take a walk every day I have nothing planned. I should also write down when I have ideas for what to write about. I know I had some. All I remember now is the religious one and I'm always reluctant to write yet another blog about religion and god. I shouldn't waste so much verbiage on something that doesn't exist. I can be meta about it though. The problem with writing logically about god is that people who believe in god are starting with faith, not logic. It's like using a brilliant chess strategy in a baseball game. The only ones I ever really want to convince are agnostics but what's even the point of that? Oh right, I thought about that yesterday and now remember why I wanted to write about it. It's not writing about religion, it's writing about how my mind works always the prime topic of Wise Madness l just went up another level of meta. But it still isn't working for me so I'm going to move on .

So if I don't talk about god what is my sure fire topic? Food of course. As I went to make dinner I remembered that I still had all that leftover mac & cheese. I didn't like it the first time. I didn't want to throw it out. So what could I do? I went online and looked for ways to make mac & cheese more interesting. I found two and combined them. I added Taylor ham and garlic salt. Wow what a difference. I actually enjoyed it. The ham or pretty much anything solid would take away the wormlike texture. Crumbled bacon would have been better but that would have meant cooking the bacon. I wanted to just pop it in the microwave. The garlic salt was just the flavor it needed to bring it alive. So now I know what to do from the get go next time I make it. I wonder how many zillion calories it was. Garlic salt is the duct tape of cooking.

There was a time a year or two ago that I wanted to post a video from Cool Hand Luke but I could never find the scene I was looking for. Yesterday I went to look for another scene just to make a funny comment on somebody's Facebook. In the process I found the scene I had looked so hard for. The trick is that it was not on YouTube. The reason I wanted to post it way back when is that I think of this as my strategy when dealing with some people.

This is not a fun strategy and it doesn't work but somehow I keep hoping that it will. To be more accurate it works but not as well as I'd like. I don't become George Kennedy's best friend, I just get toleration.

I'm starting to feel sorry for myself so I better call this quits and make breakfast. I need something to make me happy. It's too late to start on pancakes. I'm going to go nuts and have a peanut butter and sausage omelet. I never did that before.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 20, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!