I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 12, 2012 - 11:18 a.m.

Aoife at the Bandshell. I Lovett!

I'm only starting to write this a half an hour later than I like. That's an improvement. I had another busy day yesterday with lots to write about. So why did I surf the web for half an hour after I wrote that? Let's start again.

Last night I finally took advantage of living in Brooklyn and went to the Prospect Park Bandshell too see Lyle Lovett and Aoife O'Donovan. I have been looking forward to this since the Celebrate Brooklyn schedule was announced. I rarely see big name performers at large venues; I find it hard to justify the cost, to pay more money for worse seats than I'm used to. Free shows are of course a different matter and I wasn't going to miss a chance to see someone as great as Lyle. I also never miss a chance to see Aoife who is not just an incredibly talented musician but a friend too.

The one disappointment was that I was not able to arrange to go with any of my friends. I tried but failed. People were either not going or not sure they were going. I think I might have just had miscommunication with one friend. In any event I went to the show myself. I had planned on walking but it was too humid so I took the quick subway ride. As soon as I emerged from the station I heard someone call my name. It was Fred and his friends driving by. He thought he wasn't going to go but the weather changed. I went on the line while he parked. Right after that Bill, a mutual friend of ours that we both met for the first time in person last weekend, got online right behind me. It really is a small world. Bill then didn't show up and I figured he had to be on the other entrance to the bandshell. I was right. I found him and he joined us. I was closer to the front.

We got seats in the front row of the non-member seats. That's pretty much where I always sit at Celebrate Brooklyn. I got there the perfect time. I was the tenth person or so online but a hundred people came in the next 20 minutes.

On the way back from getting food Fred and I saw Carolann, Mark, and their son. It's funny that everyone I saw that I knew, Fred knew too. Well that was till I saw Eliot in the member section.

They gave Aoife a full hour for her set, longer than she'd get at Rockwood or the living Room. No matter how often I see her, as soon as I hear her voice I'm captivated. I was going to tell you that you can see her at her annual September residency at Rockwood but it looks like she isn't doing it this year. Catch her when you can. Don't take my word for it, everyone sitting around me seemed to love her too.

The show was emceed by John Platt. We were just discussing how there didn't seem to be a WFUV presence at the show when he was introduced.

I walked around a bit in between sets looking for a water fountain. They don't have one. I had to buy another drink. I also looked for other people I knew. I spotted Greg Liszt, Aoife's bandmate from Crooked Still, and said hello. The only thing was that it wasn't Greg. It was his doppelganger. The light wasn't good but I was right next to him and still thought it was him.

There were still seats available during Aoife's set. The member section was only three quarters full. Why do people show up late? I never miss an opening act, it might be someone I end up loving. This time of course it was someone I started off loving.

By the time Lyle's set started the place was packed. In fact I had trouble getting back to my seat. His band started playing before I reached it. He hadn't taken the stage yet.

Lyle is such a quirky person and act to be a big star. That isn't a complaint of course, that's high praise. He's a great musician and his band rocks the Casbah. He also has some of the most entertaining patter you'll hear.

What genre is Lyle? I think of him as country but he could be folk, rock, or even a crooner. Like so many great artists he just is what he is. He plays what he likes and doesn't worry about fitting into a mold.

After the show there was too much chaos for any socializing, I got caught in the flow of people and made my way back to the subway.

I was going to go to Lincoln Center today to see Tom Paxton and Erin Mckeown. I decided that I need a day off and will stay home. It is a beautiful day so maybe I'll go for a walk.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 12, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!