I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 25, 2015 - 9:58 a.m.

Happy New Year!

How often can I write about bad mental health days? Unfortunately not as often as I have them. So yesterday was a total waste. I was supposed to do laundry. Know what I did instead? I went to Marshall's and bought more underwear and socks, the two things I was running out of. I really needed the socks so it wasn't a total waste. I always need socks; they run away from me. They don't make their way in pairs, they always make their escapes one at a time. Last time I did laundry one pair of underwear disappeared. My clothes all hate me.
When I was waiting at the checkout line at Marshall's I saw something disturbing. There was a woman there with a small child, maybe 4-years-old. The mother was totally ignoring her daughter and playing a game on the phone. The kid kept trying to get her mother's attention to no avail She picked up some little kid's tchotchke and said to her mother, "Can I take this home? Can I take this home? Can I take this home? …. " Finally the mother responded, "No we don’t need it." The kid just dropped it on the floor and the mother went back to her game. Can you imagine your mother letting you just drop something in store and leaving it there? Is this how inconsiderate people get started?

Today is March 25th, does that date have any significance to you? Here's a hint, nerds have a better chance of knowing this. Another hint, I'm going for a fictional reference. It is the date that the ring was destroyed in The Lord of the Rings. Now if you are super nerdy you don't celebrate that today. By the Steward's Reckoning used Oin LOTR the first day of the year is the winter solstice and the months have different numbers of days and a few days are in no month. If you make the conversions then the ring was destroyed on March 18th. That's the day that as listed on my Tolkien Calendars when I used to buy them. Here's a secret. I used that as a combination on a lock I had, 318. The calendar was changed as a result of the events in LOTR. This is Gandalf speaking:

But in Gondor the New Year will always begin on the 25th of March when Sauron fell and you were brought out of the fire to the King.
I'll get a bit meta. I'm upset because I have not been able to get myself to do anything but the one thing I did was start writing this early. But even then I wasted too much time and I should finish now and make breakfast.

I'm worried about myself. Things are not good in my head.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 25, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!