I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 10, 2015 - 3:09 p.m.

Black Hawk Lansdowne

Dateline Lansdowne. I'm writing this from Steve and Lori's living room. That's a spoiler. Now you know where I will end up.

After blogging yesterday I went to catch my bus. They make it simple by coming to a full stop. I don't run after a moving bus. That would be more fun. One reason I use Bolt not Megabus is that they have a stop downtown a few blocks from the Canal Stop on the . The only place to catch the Megabus is on the extreme west side far from the subway. It is also a shorter subway ride downtown. The subways have been giving me a hard time recently and trips have taken longer than I planned so I gave myself lots of time to make the bus. And of course made perfect connections and got there a half an hour before the bus was scheduled to leave. There is no bus depot. I had to wait outside in the cold. And the bus didn't board early before it was scheduled to leave. Oh well. I was dress warmly. It was just too cold to take my gloves off to use my phone.

The ride to Philly was fine except the WiFi didn't work and neither did the electrical outlet. I actually read a book and took a nap. I needed the nap. I needed to read too.

I got to Philly a few minutes early and Steve picked me up a few minutes later and we drove to their house. LORi was in bed but not asleep when I arrived We talked for a bit then she took a nap. Oh I see I never explained why I was there. I an LORi's nurse, she just had surgery.

While LORi slept I put Steve to work as my geek-in-law. I had him look at a problem with my computer, he found that screws were missing, and then on Heather's computer. I brought it with me so we could recover files from the hard drive. The computer is dead. Steve ordered the part we needed to do that.

I thought I was cooking dinner but instead we had hoagies. Tonight I'm cooking. I will the rest of my stay too. That's part of my duties.

I am also being unhelpful by making LORi laugh. If you ever had surgery you know that laughing hurts. I have helped her learn how to deal with it. You have to hold your guts in.

After LORi and Steve went to sleep I went to my room in the basement and did what have been doing most nights, watched Doctor Who. They once again saved the world by being good people with good emotions, not by thinking.

I then did something stupid. I turned my computer off. It has this strange problem. If you unplug the computer and turn it off it won't turn on again. I have to plug it back in then weight half an hour at which point something inexplicable happens and it will turn on. I know when it's ready because the LED that indicates that it is plugged in comes on.

I woke up this morning and went to bring the computer upstairs. I unplugged it before turning it on. So what happened? I wouldn't come on. If I had turned it on first all would have been well. I also would have been finished writing this. Instead I made breakfast for myself. Then LORi woke up and I talked to her and made her breakfast. She is doing very well today. She's walking around and even did laundry. I did all the heavy lifting.

My computer eventually did turn on so now I can write. And that brings us to the present.

Anything else I missed? Yes. LORi is a crazy cat lady. I don't know the exact cat count. There were four on her bed when I arrived. Lady is curled up next to me now. Then there's Leo, Cow Cat, Xavier, and Moonshine. I might be missing one. I am married to Lady. Don't ask me why or how. I just know that I wrote that once here. Neither LORi nor I remember that. But that's not the point. The point is that Cow Cat was looking very cute and came over to play with me and rub against my leg. I petted him. I am allergic to cats. I should never pet them. I should especially not touch my eyes after I do. So of course I had a terrible allergic reaction. Good thing LORi has Zyrtec in the house. I took that and washed my hands well. The attack subsided. I am not petting Lady even though I want to.

LORi has one of those bags filled with buckwheat that you put in the microwave to sooth sore spots. I put it around my neck and it helped my sore shoulder. I need to put it 9in again and use it on my hand. That hurts now from all this typing. So I guess that means I should finish this. I just did.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 10, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!