I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

October 12, 2014 - 11:57 a.m.

Wedding for Godot

Like Douglas MacArthur I have returned. I wasn't dead, must dead tired. I've been volunteering at WfUV every day and pretty much collapsing when I got home. It was the first drive where everyone took pledges on a laptop, a chromebook. There were some glitches. I have a list of things that could be tweaked for the next drive. Some volunteers, like me, find it easier than pen and paper. It doesn't let you make a mistake. Others found it more difficult. For some it was physical difficulty using the touch pad. For others it was difficulty having to follow a set procedure. It's just like teaching, things which some people find so simple others can't understand at all. I got most of my training down to just one thing, don't skip anything

I got in every morning at 6:10, technically 10 minutes late, but that's when the first MetroNorth train gets in. I have the commute down to a science. I wake up at 4:13 AM, leave the house at 4:33. The subways follow their schedules very closely at that time of the morning and the pulled into the station as I stepped on the platform. That got me to Grand Central station between 15 and 20 minutes before my train left. I bought my ticket if I didn't have one and got on the third car from the back of the train on track 24. When I got off the train at Fordham that put me right at the stairs. When I get to the security guard I point to the WfUV logo on my jacket or hat and I wouldn't have to stop.

Most days I went straight home but on Friday I went to see the Kennedys. I will write about that next entry.

I'm going to skip way ahead and write about yesterday as if I'd been writing every day. Yesterday was Lori not LORi and Joe's wedding! The wedding was at 3:00 in my old haunts in and near Bayside. I came straight from Fordham. Brian who also volunteered and went to the wedding drove me. I navigated. I was great not having to even think about how to get someplace.

We got to the church in Queens Village early so I showed Brian my old house. it looks so different. I took a pic but I'll post that another time. When we got back to the church Joe was about to go to the LIRR station to pick people up and I volunteered Brian to do it. I knew Brian would agree that Joe shouldn't be ferrying people from the train when he was about to get married and I was right. So I got to see more of my old hood.

There church had loads of FUV present and former staff and volunteers. I sat in the church with one group and Brain with another.

In some ways it was the most tradition wedding I ever went to. Almost every wedding I've been to has been Jewish, Catholic, or non-denominational where people wrote their own vows. I never heard a minister say "Dearly beloved we are gathered here in the sight of god to � " It was just like the movies! But then again it was Joe and Lori so it wasn't. they wore a wedding dress and a tux but they also wore sneakers Then things were delayed because Lori had a wardrobe malfunction and her Maid of Honor, Dawn, had to jury rig the dress. She did a great job.

The reception was at Bourbon Street a restaurant in old Bayside right by the train station. Brian and I made a quick getaway from the church because I knew that parking could be a challenge. We got a good free spot around the corner .Yes I'm writing about the most special day in Lori and Joe's wedding but I feel it necessary to discuss parking. Be grateful I didn't give the route we took.

There were not assigned tables so Brian and I grabbed the biggest table for the WFUV crew. There were many of us. In fact too many to fit, Ken and Janice. were the last to arrive and there was no more room in the inn.

The celebrity was Sam as this marked the return of the prodigal son well daughter, Sam is short for Samantha. She was a student who worked at the station and was the volunteer coordinator. Even after she graduated she went to grad school at Fordham and remained there. Now she's left the nest, got a job, and just volunteered for one shift instead of being there 25 hours a day.

I will be thrown out of the family if I don't talk about the food. it was a buffet. I had steak. One of the guests made cupcakes, mmmmcupcakes

There were Mardi Gras beads, there was a conga line, there was an 80s music mix, There was lots of mixing of worlds. To Lori's friends from work I'm the biggest math nerd. To Joe's family I'm the guy that was on Jeopardy. Why am I never the really hot guy?

Brian drove me to the train because the train right by restaurant doesn't go to Brooklyn. We went to Queens Village. I missed the train by seconds. Brian is a saint and then drove me Jamaica where I'd have a shorter wait for the next train.

Now I have to adjust to not going to the pledge drive and having free time. I'll manage it.

Now to make myself breakfast. I'm going to keep it simple and have poached eggs.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile October 12, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!