I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 09, 2014 - 1:33 a.m.

It's As Cold as Ice in Philadelphia

My computer is not working at all. I am at Lori�s and this computer has major problems. By necessity this will be short.

In the interest of keeping my sanity I traveled to Philly to stay with Lori and Steve for much of this week. I left Tuesday morning and I�m coming back on Friday afternoon. I rushed over to the far west side to catch the bus in the bitter cold. I was excited because I finally registered with Bolt Bus and had an A ticket, we get to board first. There was hardly anyone on the bus. They let people board early. They didn�t even ask to look at my ticket. I took up four seats with my stuff and that was fine. I also discovered that I couldn�t get my computer to work no matter how often I jiggled the power cord. I got to Philly right on time and Lori met me.

We have nothing in particular planned. I�m just spending time with friends. Lori and I can always amuse each other. We also amuse other people I did not have time to eat before I left so we ate at Perkins. We both had the sausage biscuit and egg platter. It comes with gravy, and bacon! Yes this is pretty much heaven. We also had conversation. The place wasn�t busy and it turned out we entertained the staff. We talked about all sorts of stuff but out latest plan in becoming billionaires zillionaires was the winner. It�s called Profits for Prophets. We are starting a professional organization for religious hucksters. We are going to get rich skimming money from them in dues and the annual convention. When we went to pay the cashier talked us about it which is how we knew that were the entertainment. I deiced that we shouldn�t leave a tip but that they should tip us. In fact our meals should be comped and they should tip us on top of them. We did tip but we know that justice says it should have been the other way around.

The rest of the time Lori and I spent looking up etymology and other things online. Somehow Lori changed every dictionary in existence so that they thought the word was affianced instead of the correct enfianced. She insists that the facts say that she is right. I say that the facts have an well-known LORi bias. People and the facts are coming down on her side but I know that I�m right. You can ask any of the women I�m enfianced to. Of course they don�t know who they are. Is anybody following this?

Last night as we were about to go to bed a circuit breaker blew. LORi and I couldn�t find the tripped breaker. Steve had to work all night. I went to bed with no electricity in my room so I couldn�t use this computer.

Today when Steve got home it took him a long time but he found the problem. Some of the breakers are installed backwards but they still go on in the same direction as the others. So we thought they were on but they were off. If it weren�t 3AM we would have eventually figured it out on our own.

Steve looked at my computer and couldn�t do anything. Some research shows that it is very likely a problem with the motherboard. I am not happy about that. I�m taking it to the Geek Squad tomorrow.

Oh LORi and I exchanged Festivus presents. Yay I actually got something for festivus. When people talk about what they got I don�t have to say, �I got a rock.� I did not get my official Red Ryder BB gun with a compass in the stock and a thing on it to tell the time. I actually thought I was getting it this year. I was mistaken.

Today�s excitement is that I made dinner fro everyone, my famous soup. This time I tried something different. I told LORi that I wanted to try and get some vegetable into my diet and I thought I might be able to hide it in heavily spiced soup. I asked her what was nutritious but had a very week flavor. I went with cilantro. I chipped it very find so as not to clog my intestines with it. We�ll see if it does. If you have a suggestion let me know. It can�t be must leafy veggies or things with hard skins. IN any event it came out well. It had Cajun sausage, potato, garlic, and jack cheese in addition to the cilantro, cayenne pepper, Mrs Dash, and thyme. I always experiment with spices if they are around. The pepper covers up most anything.

LORi is a CCL, Crazy Cat Lady. There are six of them living here now. As LORi is both my wife and my lesbian wife, we had a lesbian wedding in Toronto, They are my step cats. I am stopping short of adopting them. If we get divorced she gets uncontested custody. She also gets custody of Steve my husband-in-law. Steve doesn�t mind he says that I�m like LORi�s gay best friend, except I�m not gay. That seems to be the way most women feel about me. But back to the cats. Don�t quote me but I really like cats. I enjoy playing with them even though yesterday Cowcat set my allergies off by crawling on me and demanding I pet him. I am a sucker for petting pets.

Don�t get me wrong, dogs are still better. Cats are still evil, I just love them. But I�ll take Bella, Katherine�s dog over the cats even though she�s a much more recent acquaintance and have no legal standing with me. There�s no name for a friend�s dog but there should be. It�s an important relationship. She�s the dog I get to play with and that knows me and shows affection.

OH and Cowcat is the only one of the cats to love me. Leo ignored me till today. I told him it was too little too late. Only Cowcat loves me.

LORi and I both caught glimpses of the ghost of Pixie. We both saw a cat moving out the corner of our eyes where there was no living cat. There have been three dead cats that lived in this room but Pixie is the only one that I played with a lot so I�m sure it�s him. Or is that her. Hey I loved Pixie but not that way and his or is it her gender did not come into it.

OK I should put this to bed then put myself to bed. This short entry is over 1100 words. The computer started working better so writing it was not as maddening as I thought it would be. Let�s see how posting it goes.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 09, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!