I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me โ€” that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter โ€” except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 20, 2015 - 7:08 p.m.

Vested Interest

Ugh, I got home and the internet is down. The Wi-Fi is working but not the internet. It better get fixed so I can post this. I would also like to watch some TV since I'm actually home a few hours before I have to get to sleep.

So yesterday I wrote about going to WFUV but I forgot to write about what I did Saturday night so I'll catch up with that. Know why I forgot? No not because I am an idiot! Fooled you. Yes I'm an idiot but I'm going to blame this one on sleep deprivation. Of course I could be wrong about that. I mean I am an idiot.
Saturday night I went to First Acoustics to see The Lords of Liechtenstein and Greg Klyma. I had lots of options what to do but went with this one. It is at just about the most convenient venue there is for me. I can get there in 20 minutes if everything goes perfectly, maybe even 15. It's the Lords so I did their merch and once there I asked Greg if he wanted me to do his too. He said yes. I got there early so I'd have time to hang out with before the show. I think Richard and Viki were the only ones I knew there other than friends and family of the Lords and friends and family of Coco who runs First Acoustics. But that's a lot of people and of course I know the artists. Oh and in a burst of not being an idiot I remembered to wear my official Lords of Lichtenstein. I just realized something funny that night. A year ago I was made an official Lord of Lichtenstein and given the sweater-vest. So I was vested with a title of nobility by being given a vest. You do not have to bow to me when you see me. Simply calling me m'lord will do. I am expecting that. It's not honoring me but the office.

Because I was selling the merch I was conscious of what albums the songs they sang were on Most were on the album that hasn't been recorded yet. They have a lot of new material. I love that. They keep getting better and better.

I am not sure that I have ever seen Greg do a full set before. Most of the time I've seen him were at Budgiedome. He was an early adopter from before I actually invited people to play. Then he wasn't around several years. I reconnected with him at NERFA 2013 where he had a formal showcase and impressed the hell out of me. He wasn't at last year's Falcon Ridge. We'll see if he can make it this year.

Greg is a story teller. He's somewhere in the Jonathan Byrd โ€“ John Prine spectrum. So he tells weird stories or normal stories weirdly or hell. I don't know. Whatever it is it doesn't come out sounding like songs you've heard before. They are purely his own. He has something to say and he has a distinctive way of saying it. You'd think that would be common but it isn't.

After the show I stayed around to do merch but actually left earlier than I would if I weren't getting up at 6 the next morning. See I can be good.

Today I had a short day at WFUV, from 6 AM to 2 PM. It was very quiet. I left early to go to therapy. I took the Ram Van back to the City so I could pick up my mail at my PO box. It's half a block from the Fordham Lincoln Center campus. The Ram Van is the Fordham intercampus transportation. Ironically the mail was from WFUV asking me for money.

I have been taking a lot of public transportation and there were a few incidents. One happened the other night coming home. The train was crowded. On the train with standing room only there was a row of four seats with only three people in it. There were two men each sitting a bit too wide and a woman four inches from the nearer of the two guys and about not quite enough room on her other side for me to sit. I said excuse me and asked her to move over so I could sit. She said, "Where? You say how the men are sitting." Yes I did and I saw how far she was from them. If she scooted over I could have sat with a tight squeeze but the guy next to her would have scooted over a bit and we could all sit. That's what routinely happens. But she wouldn't move so I stood after my twelve hour shift. I was not happy about that.

Then coming home yesterday I got off at Grand Central station to the wonderful sight of a guy taking a piss in the crowded lower passageway a half a minute walk from two bathrooms. This wasn't a homeless guy. This was someone well dressed and I guess too lazy to walk that half a minute.

I am not going to say how horrible people were. There were thousands, perhaps tens of thousands of people there being considerate. It's actually pretty amazing how all these people can walk in different directions and avoid collisions both physical and emotional.

The internet just came on! I bet it was seven minutes ago at 7 PM. There was work being done in the neighborhood. That was why it was down. Now I can post this and check up on all my other internet stuff. So I'll do that now.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 20, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!