I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 16, 2015 - 8:19 p.m.

Long Days Journey Into Volunteering


Here comes another sleep deprived edition of Wise Madness. I slept late this morning 4:15 AM. I was up at 4:08 the day before. Might try a little later on Monday. I went to WFUV for the pledge drive. It's easiest if I catch the 5:37 MetroNorth train out of Grand Central and have to leave early enough to catch that. It doesn't help that the train runs local then. What does help is that Google knows the subway schedule which tells me when I have to get up. I then fine tune that with the Subway app that gives the actual time the train is going to arrive. I have this commute down pat. I know exactly where to sit on the subway so that the door opens right by the stairs. Then I know where to sit on the MetroNorth train so I'm closest to the stairs at Fordham. I'm a proud expert commuter. Please don't read what a terrible liar said I did the day before in my last entry. I couldn't do anything that stupid could I? Nah. I was hallucinating.

I actually met someone I knew on the MetroNorth, Jim, no not that Jim, the other Jim that volunteers at WFUV. You can't tell the Jims without a scorecard. To keep consistent I will call the Jim on the train Jim not Jim. That's what the Style Manual says to do.

When I get to Fordham I point to FUV swag when the guard sees me. They know that m means I'm going to the station and I don’t' have to stop. I'm so clever. OK obnoxious. It's close.

We had more volunteers there today than yesterday. Jim was there really early and set up which makes things easier too. Of course we had far fewer calls than the day before. There were a few difficult cases where volunteers had to deal with unusual things and we had to deal with how the things and how the volunteer dealt with them. That makes me feel useful. I totally earned my keep today, I saved the station $760. Someone pledged $1000 but wanted the premiums for giving $240. The premiums are ties to the pledge amounts. It's a glitch in the system. We have a work around. The volunteer forgot it. On the pulldown menu he went by the premiums and that gave the lower figure for the size of the pledge. A bit later as I was walking by the front desk I said, "Good thing we got that $1000 pledge. Linda said, We didn't get a $1000 pledge. I went back to the volunteer and showed him how to go back and look at the last form. It gave the name of the donor. We then saw that he gave $240. Later we figured out how that happened. We had to call membership and discuss it with Cathy and she told us how to handle it. It meant her doing by hand. But this will never show up where the member can see it. They actually know what they are doing. So do I. It took a while but the volunteer realized he did something silly. That's all I ever ask. I call myself an idiot all the time. We all do stupid things. If we realize they are stupid, we aren't stupid. Just what we did was stupid. You're smart if you realize when you are stupid. Though I'm still an idiot. Got it?

I spend a lot of my day there eating. This morning there were breakfast wraps. Then I had a ham, salami, and cheese wrap for lunch. I just realized it was wraps both meals. I told you that I'm an idiot. But I'm a cute idiot.

In the second shift it was nice to see Victoria back. She used to live in my old hood, Bayside Then she moved out of the City. Now she's back.

My tummy got a bit unhappy in the afternoon. I decided that I'd leave early after Rona and Bob got in. Of course it waited for over an hour after they arrived. I gave myself a treat and took the MetroNorth home too. I could save money and go by bus and subway but I wanted to have time to write this. I did it for love of you. My Gentle Readers. I'm going out tonight. Rod Picott and Jess Klein are playing at Rockwood. It's a fairly late show, 10 PM. Yes I'm insane. But I am giving myself a break and I am skipping the first shift at WFUV tomorrow. I said I'd be there at 10 AM but I'm not going to force it. Jim will be there to supervise.

OK I'm going to keep this short an maybe take a nap for almost an hour then head out. I did an 11 hour shift, a bit more actually, and spent over 3 hours commuting. You'd think I'd know enough to stay in today. Especially as I'm not feeling great. I told you I was an idiot.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 16, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!