I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 29, 2007 - 10:50 a.m.

Snakes Not On A Plane

The fire alarm went off during my calculus class yesterday. I started getting the class to leave the building. I actually assigned them homework first. Just as we were about to leave the alarm stopped so I went back to teaching. We then heard fire engines but that isn't uncommon. We are right on Broadway and they always go past our building. This time they stopped. I saw they weren't rushing to put out a fire and guessed they were responding to a false alarm. I continued teaching but told the students that if we all die they can blame me when they fill out their evaluations. Then a student noticed that the strobe lights were still flashing in the halls and I felt obligated to lead them out of the building even though I was still confident it was a false alarm. We are on the seventh floor and had to walk down to the street. When we got to the third floor we passed somebody coming up telling us it was a false alarm so we reversed direction and went back to the room. Most of the class was lazy and took the elevators, which of course took forever since the whole school was getting back to class. A few students joined me on the walk back up.

I did not appreciate this interruption. My class is behind and I can't afford the missed time. I'm never going to start graphing. I am going to attempt to give an abbreviated graphing section even though it is one of my favorite topics. In theory they know everything they know to graph already so we'll see if I can do it quickly.

We finished off logarithms in my Tech Math Class. Logs are taught differently than when I was in school because we no longer use them to aid in calculations. The reason they were used is the fact that the log(ab) = log(a) + log(b). So if you had two large numbers you'd look up their logs on a log table; add the logs, then use the log table again to find the antilog. The result is you can multiply numbers by addition.

The fact that we don't do that robs me of the opportunity to tell one of my favorite jokes. I might end up telling it anyway with just a little prolog on the historical use of logs; the one I just gave you. So yes I am now going to subject you to a math joke.

They had a problem in Yosemite National Park; the snake population was crashing. The problem was that they weren't breeding fast enough. No one knew what to do until one intrepid herpetologist said, "I know what to do!" He went into the park and chopped down some trees. The then fashioned them into tables. When he was asked what he was doing he explained; "With a log table adders can multiply!"

Don't shoot me. Do you know how Catholic lumber jacks practice birth control? Logarithm.

Do I have any readers left? I hope so because it took me over two years but I finally figured out the 2004 presidential election or at least one aspect of it. For many people the campaign became about which candidate you would want to share a beer with. The Bush campaign somehow was able to portray Kerry as a stuck up rich person with nothing in common with the average person while George W. Bush was this regular Joe. He might not be that bright but he was likable and he had the older wiser Dick Cheney to help him through the tough spots. In other words Kerry was portrayed as Thurston Howell III while George W. Bush was Gilligan and Cheney the Skipper. I guess that leaves Lieberman as the Professor but that doesn't really work for me. Well at least we now get to see what its like when Gilligan runs the Island. It isn't pretty. Good thing Ginger and Maryann wised up for the midterm elections.



Separated at Birth?


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 29, 2007
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!