I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 25, 2013 - 11:20 a.m.

Lightning Bug

I am tired and my allergies are bothering me but My Gentle Readers come first. I really need a way of just transferring my thoughts onto the internet. Wise Madness has become my primary way of processing my life. I think about how I'll write about things as they happen. Most of it of course is not for public consumption. It's a device for thinking objectively about things. I sometimes imagine discussing it with my therapist. Sometimes its with a friend. Does everyone do that. Is it just me? Just the crazy people?

I had a few possible plans for last night. I could go to the PATH Caf� and see Caitlin Mahoney. That's always fun even though I just saw her a few days ago but I don't like the venue and the weather was yucky. I could go to see Jess Klein who I haven't seen in ages at Hill Country Barbecue but the show started at 10:30. Not only is that late It's really to late for me to have dinner and it just seems wrong to go to my favorite restaurant and not have dinner. I decided that I was going to take it easy and stay home and watch Serenity. I have finished watching all of Firefly so wanted to see how it ended. It didn't work out that way but part of me wants to talk about the show anyway. I think I will.

I was a huge Joss Whedon fan. Buffy and Angel both spent time as my not only my favorite show but church, the show I had to watch. Each stopped being church when Joss moved onto his next project. He moved on from Angel to Firefly so of course I was excited about it. But I had to miss the first few episodes. Carey, Bad Carey not Good Carey didn't like it and he was a co-worshiper at the Joss churches. I gave it a try and I didn't like it. And what I didn't like I still don't like, the entire look of the show. It feels like he decided he wanted a western with a steam punk space ship and didn't care if it made any sense. Having them live in the distant future like they did in the old west makes no sense and can only be played for laughs. It's like someone in the late middle ages writing a science fiction story about the frontier of a new continent and having civilization having guns and railroads but the frontier using stone age technology.

It was hard for me to get past that but so many friends love the show and Joss is so good I decided to watch the series on Amazon Prime. And I never did get past those things but the show is fun. Like all Joss works the dialogue is great. I started to really get into it around episode 9, Ariel, the one they break into the hospital to scan River's brain. Of course I thought it was ridiculous to keep Jayne on the ship after he betrayed them. It's not like he was irreplaceable. Everyone thought he was a jerk. But still it was exciting.

One thing that continued to bug me was that nobody seemed to notice that River was psychic. I can't believe any viewers didn't notice. The characters finally figured it out in the last episode which I loved except they still didn't seem to realize that having someone that has telepathy, precogniztion, and clairvoyance, is really useful. I know they finally get it in the movie but it still annoys me. We should not be smarter than the characters on the show.

I am missing the key point, I really like the show. It isn't church but I looked forward to watching the next episode and I'm looking forward to Serenity. I'm not in communion with the church but I'm not apostate either.

But I didn't watch Serenity and take it really easy. I made a run to Trader Joe's for coffee and a few other goodies. I had had tentative plans to go to Coney Island during the day but the weather scratched them. I went to Trader Joe's in the evening and realized that an area equally easy for Katherine and I to get to so I asked if she wanted to join me for dinner around there. She actually lives closer to the Last Homely House West of the Mountains than Trader Joe's but the way the subways work make it harder to get to. We didn't work anything out but talked about me perhaps going to her neighborhood after I shopped. When I came out of Trader Joes I got a text and phone message from one of my friends at Kerrville that was "in a pickle." I needed to be at a computer to help. My phone wasn't going to cut it. I called Katherine and she went on the computer, found what was needed and contacted the friend in the pickle and everything had a happy ending. But I didn't know that I was on my way to Katherine's to look on her computer. It was closer than mine. I got there and she was waiting at the subway station for me and we ended up having dinner and hanging out at her house. I can't remember the last time I did that. It's such a normal thing to do. I used to do that all the time. Now it's exotic and exciting for me. I ended up staying quite late, just the way I used to often spend my Friday nights with friends. So instead of a quiet night at home watching TV I ended up staying out later than if I had see Jess Klein. It was so worth it. But that's why I'm tired.

I could write about politics or religion but instead I'm going to eat breakfast.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 25, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!