I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 11, 2015 - 10:42 a.m.

Notice There Aren't Conservative Arts Colleges

Dateline Lansdowne: This isn't good. I'm not sure what's wrong but my head hurts. Not quite a headache. Maybe I'll take an acetaminophen before I try writing. I'm going to do that. OK that, a warm buckwheat bag around my shoulders, and a cup of coffee are making things better. I'd rather have a loaf of bread, a jug of whine, and thou. OK make that coffee or hot chocolate not wine. And it really depends on the thou.

Wow I just thought of what I wanted to write about and immediately forgot it. It is really hard not having a brain.

I haven't done much. I haven't stepped outside since we went out for hoagies on Monday. I made dinner yesterday. That's actually exciting as I got to cook for everybody. When you don't have to do that every day it becomes a treat. When you do it's a chore. Here's what I made, Sweet Garlic Chicken.. Notice that the cooking time is the very unhelpful 15 to 30 minutes. I had to judge. I nailed it at 24 minutes. Try this out, it's wonderful. I made it with Hasselback potatoes. I cook the potatoes at 425˚ and the recipe said the chicken should be 450˚ so I split the difference and cooked at 437.5˚.

I told LORi to say it was good if it sucked and that it was fantastic if it were good. She said it was yummy. I don't know how to take that. There were only two items on the menu and she couldn't stick to it. Life is so hard. Well I liked it. It was yummy.

Steve had been hard at work as my geek-in-law. He's figured out how to fix the hinge of my computer but it involves ordering a part. He also ordered a power supply for my external hard drive. It will be so nice to have access to all the files I have on that.

I have been very good and haven't pet a cat since my allergies exploded on Monday. I have not had to take allergy meds. They keep looking at me extra cute and rubbing against my legs trying to seduce me but I'm made of stronger stuff. And I will point out that I'm in a house with seven cats and have not posted any cute cat pics let alone videos. I am clearly morally superior to those that do. You might notice that yesterday I only listed five cats. One I didn't know about, one I just forgot to list, and one I got the name wrong. So here's the rundown using the official way of listing them, by color. Mainly black cats, Sid, Sam, and Moonlight (yesterday I said Moonshine); the tabbies, Lady and Xavier, and the oddballs, orange Leo and the white and black Cow Cat. Guess who love me the most, it's the oddballs. Wow there isn't a cat in sight at the moment. There's one on the other couch but it's blocked from my view.

You know how much I love Frank Bruni of the New York Times but today's column, College’s Priceless Value: Higher Education, Liberal Arts and Shakespeare. I totally agree that there's more to college than career training. It isn't just an expensive trade school. But he seem to have the notion that you only get the intangible benefits from the humanities. He's wrong. He starts by being asked the question, "What’s the most transformative educational experience you’ve had?" What I thought of all involved math and physics. Just last night I was thinking about how great it felt to prove on my own that there were an infinite number of prime numbers in high school number theory. That right there taught me what math was really about. I saw the world differently. Then there was all the marvels around learning the Special and General theories of Relativity, actually deriving e=mc². There is the bizarro world of quantum mechanics, and deriving through partial differential equations why a harpsichord sounds different than a piano. This is all magic.

But I did take humanities. I studied music, art, history, political science, and literature. They all made me a better person. But the thing is taking math and sciences will make humanities majors better people too. People seem to be proud to not know math. Every hear someone proud that they are not well-read?

I have one big void in my education, language. I am terrible at learning foreign languages. I studied French and Hebrew and know almost nothing. I am not happy about that. I wish I were better. I feel the void.

OK now it's time to eat breakfast. I am going to make bacon in eggs. I'm in Philly so I will have to ask LORi if we have any scrapple in the house. If we do I'll have it tomorrow.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 11, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!