I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 19, 2015 - 4:28 p.m.

Horvendile and the Real Film Review

Welcome to a now rare in office edition of Wise Madness. I stopped by my post office box which is next door and decided to take advantage of the amenities. Wow It's nice typing on a full keyboard and looking at a large monitor. Oh and having a real office chair is nice too. At home I always type in bed. This is much better for my shoulder. The parasite in it is happy. OK that was just in a dream, I don't really have a parasite. But that doesn't stop it from being happy.

I had another day of not going out yesterday. I do that a lot nowadays. It's too bad. I would have liked to go out in the cold. Today it was a full 15°F when I left. Sure the wind chill was 2°F but it was still not a challenge staying warm. Two pairs of long johns did the trick. I didn't even wear my hood over my hat let alone use a muffler. Does anyone else still call it a muffler? If I use it, it covers my face which I distinguish from wearing it around my neck when I call it a scarf.

Today I went out to have my weekly get my life in order meeting with Carolann. OK I talk about her all the time yet Word does not like her name. Now it does. I guess I never added it to the dictionary on this computer. I felt funny writing that, as if I should have said, "her." But no, it isn't the person Carolann that was added it was the word, "Carolann."

I'm getting back into office routine. An officemate I didn't want to talk to walked in so I put on my earphones. It took me a while to get iTunes up to actually listen to something but that's not what matters. It was more about it looking like I can't talk. It worked. Listening to classical music on WQXR is nice too. Maybe I'll install Amazon Prime on this computer. I added a lot of Lead Belly yesterday. I thought I already had it but didn't. I was looking for one song I particular, his version of House of the Rising Sun He recorded the song at least three times, Once as House of the Rising Sun, once as House of the Rising Sun (In New Orleans), and once as In New Orleans. The last is the version I wanted. It's totally different than any version you have heard. It's upbeat an peppy. I think it would be a great cover for a band I know but as I don't have a file to send I'll have to actually be there with the person and play it.

I was lamenting how Amazon Prime dropped Doctor Who and didn't seem to add anything exciting. Then by chance I noticed that Lars and the Real Girl which was on my watch list was now on Prime. I hadn't watched it because I didn't want to pay. Don't you think that Amazon should have notified me of that? I got the notice that Doctor Who was being stopped.

Lars was heavily recommended by two people Anna and Katrina. Must be something about names ending in "na." Na it isn't. The film is neuro, pure neuro. It's about a guy, Lars who falls in love with a sex toy mannequin. The entire small town in Northern Minnesota goes along with it. She gets elected to the school board. Confession, I just looked up on IMBD the guy's name, you know Lars, the title character. Yes I remember the girls name, Bianca, with no trouble. I will call that a brain glitch and move on. The film is neuro but done in a realistic style. It isn't a farce but a psychological study. It was also heartwarming. This entire town goes along with his delusion on his doctor's advice. He doesn't even know he's the patient. He thinks he's taking Bianca to the doctor for treatment. It's Frank Capra meets John Waters. It's like nothing else you've seen.

Hey I can now repurpose that and use it as an IMBD review. First I'm reviewing albums and now movies. Yeah that was short but to the point. I don't want to give away any spoilers.

I put the film on my IMDB list, You Probably Haven't Seen. Take a look at it. It has a lot of films worth seeing and of course you probably haven't. If you've seen more than five of them let me know.

Grrr. IMBD rejected my review for being too short. I have to pad it. There's a warning to not pad it. It also thinks that neuro is misspelled. Silly IMBD. Oh I only have to add one line. OK. What can I say? I added this before the last sentence.

The writing is tight enough that you accept all this just as the town does. Lars has trouble relating to people but is still grabs our sympathy. When the walls break down you can see the gentle soul trapped within.
I also deleted the part about me not being able to remember Lars's name. I don't want IMBD uses to think I'm an idiot. You know I am so it's different.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 19, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!