I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 19, 2014 - 10:21 a.m.

Diving Not Bored

Hey I'm writing early again. I even edited my photos. I'm in a very strange and constantly shifting mental state so I'm not expecting any consistency on my part.

Last night I went to my first WfUVMarquee Show in years. I'm not sure how long but the last was in the old Cutting Room. I heard about this show at the drive and asked Jim if I could be his date. Actually I probably told him that I was going to be his date. I'm a bit presumptuous.

I have not seen Lake Street Dive in four years. The first and only time I saw them was opening for Crooked Still but I liked them and got their CD. Well I did the merch so I was given the CD. I also gave one to WFUV. They didn't play it. Then their video went viral and the station discovered them.

The show was at Rockwood. I always like getting their early so I can sit in the Statler and Waldorf seats. But I didn't as I dealt with my emotional issues by watching the next segment of Ken Burns' The Civil War. I got to Rockwood just 10 minutes before show time. I looked for Jim I couldn't find him. My first run through I couldn't find anyone I knew. Now this is not my regular crowd. Marquee members pay $1200 for the privilege but a number of them are WfUV volunteers or John Platt's On Your Radar regulars so I expect to know people. Finally I saw Rita Houston, the Stations program director. Then I saw John, not Platt, in what I call the phone booth, a corner nook with stools. I left my coat on the floor with him and went to the front fo the stage where I found Damon. I watched the show with him. I never did see Jim. Jim did you go? Damon waived at Suzanne in the mezzanine but as I'm blind I couldn't see her. I waved in the direction that it looked like Damon was waving

Lake Street Dive is so good that I love them despite the fact that they do not play my kind of music. What do they play? Well they cover people I don't like at all like Michael Jackson and George Michael. Maybe they only cover people named Michael. It's infectious pop, but it's infectious pop played by great musicians. They went to the New England Conservatory of Music with the people in Crooked Still. That's of course why I know them. I love that they do songs with trumpet, voice, stand up bass, and drums. That is not a normal combo. They said something that is in my sweet spot. That since there's no guitar, keyboards, or anything playing chords the melody has to be stronger to hold your interest. They understand how to not be static; that's the key to me liking music.

I was bopping to the music and intellectually appreciating it at the same time. That's rare. It's nice to see one of my bands, even if not a core band, make it big. I wish I had seen them in between. They went from someone I never heard about playing to someone playing expensive shows that sold out fast with not much in between.

The show was broadcast live and Alisa Ali did a little interview in the middle.

After the show I looked for Jim again to no avail. I went to the back room where there's more room and didn't see Jim or the people in the band. I didn't expect them to remember me but I wanted to say hi. I did buy the new album. They have three albums and I have all of them.

Does the bass player remind anyone else of Joan Jett from the Runaways days?

I talked to Damon and Suzanne for a while then headed home for dinner. I had leftover soup. That leads to a not exciting idiot story but the idiocy was profound. I bought Trader Joe's oyster crackers in anticipation of making soup. It was more proportionally liquid than usual so there was even more call to use it Then I forgot to. So yesterday I placed the cracker box right next to where I sat and ate so I wouldn't forget. I forgot. I really am an idiot.

As a fan of Dirk Gently's methods I think that everything is interrelated. OK I don't really think that but all human endeavors are, the common thread is that they are done by humans. There are some things that are constant across geography and time. It's why you can learn everything you need to know about life from baseball. You can also learn everything you need to learn about life from the Civil War. The North had a series of terrible generals before Grant. For most of them the fault was being overly cautious. They didn't attack when they should. For one it was being overly aggressive, he attacked when the time and place were wrong. Both Grant and Lee were bold but intelligence. The biggest mistake they both made was attacking when they shouldn't have but for the most part they got it right. And what I find relevant to me now how both Grant and the equally bold Sherman had the patience to sit forever in front of Petersburg and Atlanta respectively waiting for siege to have it's effect and the time to be ripe to attack.

Wow it's 10:17 and I finished writing! I can brag about that in therapy today.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 19, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!