I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 04, 2007 - 11:01 a.m.

We're Talking Here

I just realized something odd. When Lena is in Israel we talk online almost every day while I'm writing my entry. Now that she is in the US we talk less often. So the further she is the more we talk.

Last night I went to something interesting, an Upstairs Session with Kelly Flint. Kelly got it in her head to essentially do her own talk show. They take place at Googie's Lounge, which is upstairs at The Living Room; hence the name. The format is she has two singer-songwriters as guests and she interviews them between songs. This is her second show. She does them twice a month. Her guests were her good friends Dave Cantor and Julia Douglass. Dave is her bandmate and songwriter for Dave's True Story.

The show really worked. Now it might have helped that she was on a first name basis with everyone in the audience. She made sure to introduce me to the people sitting around me before the show.

I've known Dave's True Story for eons and have been friendly with them most of that time. The thing is I almost always talk to Kelly or Jeff the bass player, her husband. It isn't that Dave and I don't like each other it is just that he is a man of few words when he is not songwriting. Kelly pointed that out in the interview. They'll drive eight hours to a gig and Dave won't say a word. So it was great to hear what he had to say.

I am not as familiar with Julia. I've seen her on the same bill as DTS a number of times. I had forgotten how funny and bright she is. Like Dave she has a very dry intellectual sense of humor. She is the total Bizarro World version of an acquaintance of mine. She looks like her and talks like her except that Julia has an actual personality.

I usually don't order food there but I noticed that they had a "Bag O Donuts" on the menu. I couldn't resist. It is a bag of mini donuts. They were described as covered with powdered sugar and cinnamon. That was a lie. When they came they were chocolate. Now I love chocolate but I got that craving for cinnamon. I didn't send them back though. I mean it was still chocolate. That and the coffee I ordered went down very nicely.

If you live in the New York area you should join me at one of Kelly's shows. They are on the first and third Tuesday of every month. There is no cover charge and they don't push the minimum.

I actually won tickets from WFUV yesterday. I called in on Monday for tickets to see Judy Collins and Nanci Griffith at the Outpost in the Burbs. Nanci is the one that I really want to see. I used to see her all the time but she grew out of my price range. The tickets for this show are $45 in advance and $50 the day of the show. So that's a nice prize.

This entry came very easily. I wrote it much faster than usual. I wonder why. At this point I'm usually looking at the clock and saying, "I better finish this off because I have to run." I have some little things I could write about but I think I'll save them for tomorrow when I'll have less material.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 04, 2007
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!