I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 26, 2013 - 11:56 p.m.

A Night At The Museum

I have to get up early again and should really go to bed now but I don't want to fall too far behind in my blogging. I'm going to write a short entry about Friday then write about Saturday on Sunday. Get that? Confused? Good I am too. Sleep deprivation will do that

After class on Friday I as supposed to prepare a lesson instead I blogged. I have to; nothing in my life is official, till it appears in Wise Madness

I raced from my office a few blocks to the American Folk Art Museum. Unbeknownst to me they have a wonderful free music series on Friday nights. It starts at 5:30 so even on nights I have something planned I can start by seeing the first act there. That's all I planned last night. That way I could get home early and get some sleep. The first act was Kat Quinn. Kat has gone from being someone I sort of knew socially to a favorite performer and good friend very rapidly. I love when that happens. She is already comfort food why still having new car smell.

I got there shortly before 5:30 and was afraid I'd have to figure out where the show was. I got to the information kiosk and started to say, "I'm looking for � " when I saw chairs set up right in front of me then when I saw Kat continued. "her." I should have said, "That Girl." Kat has a Marlo Thomas/Ann Marie vibe to her.

I went over to Kat got my hug and talked to her before grabbing a seat down front. Kat is also in the "that song reminds me of someone I know well but can't pin down who, oh right she's reminding me of herself" phase. All of which is good. She is never in the "I'm bored when is this going to be over phase. Has camouflage that can make an unobservant person think she's normal but she's delightfully weird. I'm pretty sure she's delightfully weird enough to know that that was a great compliment. If not, well, the show would be worth it without the hugs. But I'd miss the hugs. So I hope I'm right.

I was planning on leaving when she was done but the next act had a fiddle. And Kat was sitting with me. And it was before 6:30 and that can't be late and I liked the emcee who runs the series and there were lots of cute women around and yes I stayed. And I stayed for the third performer too who wasn't a cute woman. At first I thought I knew him from somewhere but I think it's just that he's a young redheaded version of Andrew Ratshin from Uncle Bonsai. No I don't know his name but he writes science fiction folk opera. He's weird. Well I told you he reminded me Andrew.

At this point I should get up and look at the card of Free Music Fridays coordinator. Hey I an do it without getting out of bed so I did. Her name is Lara Ewen. She's a kindred spirit. How good is her taste in music? Next week the performer is Kristin Andreassen clog dancing. I am so upset I have to miss that. You shouldn't if you are in the area. I'll be on Long Island seeing Pesky J. Nixon and We're About 9. Once again I need to clone myself.

I spoke quite a bit with Lara. She gave me a CD of performers at the series. I told her I blogged. I'm not sure if I told her that I'd blog about her. My Gentle Readers would know that I'd write about her; well you would if you knew the circumstances. Have I confused everyone? Have I confused you Lara? I'll be sending her a link to this.

After the show I had to grab dinner. I went down to Steak and Shake or is that the other way around. Even though it was cold I splurged and had a shake with my burger and fries. I got all that for $10.

Now I have to get to bed. need to leave here at 6:30: so I'm getting up at 6 AM.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 26, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!