I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 16, 2011 - 10:17 a.m.

Buckell Down and Listen

OK enough wasting time. It's after 9 and I want to leave hear at 11 today. I feel like I'm always rushing when I go to school this semester. It's funny because my class is so late. The problem is that I have time to do things in the morning before I go and once I get involved one thing leads to another.

So where did they lead me yesterday? Oh yes they led me to Brooklyn to see Kath Buckell (last name pronounced like belt buckle) at the Knitting Factory. I had my usual internal debate on how to get there. As in many places in Brooklyn I can get there far faster driving than by subway. It would have been two or three trains to get there then a walk. There was pretty bad traffic I made it in 40 minutes instead of the 15 it would have taken without ideally. Subway would have probably taken about 50 minutes to an hour. I was able to park right on the block.

I met Kath last year at NERFA. She is one of the people I met by sitting with someone random at dinner. Sitting with people I didn't know was great advice. I met so many great people that way. I met Kath the first night. She was interesting to talk to and that's often a good sign for songwriting, enough so that I checked out her showcase and liked what I heard enough to invite her to the Budgiedome. In a sense that is where I really discovered her as she sang more songs and sang more to me one on one. I liked her a lot from NERFA and loved her after that; enough that I am seeing her twice this month.

I got there early, well duh, and when I came in found Kath and talked to her and her band. I always like a show that starts with me getting a hug.

This music was another revelation. Instead of performing solo acoustic she was backed by a large band and was plugged in. She transformed from folk to folk-rock. There were some sound issues early on but they worked them out and I found the sweet spots to stand. Her music has a range of styles but more than anyone I was reminded of Sandy Denny in Fairport Convention. Kath's phrasing is quite similar to Sandy's. Comparing any singer to Sandy is high praise indeed. When I talked to her after the show she told me that Carter had said the same thing. I love the double confirmation, that I'm not the only one hearing the similarity and that Carter is a kindred spirit. The lighting was odd and it wasn't the best place for photography but I still took some.


Can you make out all 7 people in the band?


Kat
h

More importantly I took videos here she folk-rocking.

Here she is more acoustic with just a guitarist accompanying her.

You can hear them better here, Soundcloud.

I always get nervous hearing a friend perform in a way I haven't heard before. What if I didn't like her with the band? What if she was just mediocre? What if I'd rather tear my own head off rather than listen to her? I was so happy I didn't have to figure out what to say in that event. I could be honest and enthusiastically tell her I loved it.

The Weary Drover like many songs on her new album are based on Australian poems. They have the feel of the country. I've loved Australia since I was a little kid. What do you call someone that loves Australia? Austraphile would love the south. I like Oziphile using the Aussie term for Australia. How can you not love a country with not just marsupials but egg laying mammals like platypuses and spiny anteaters?

After the show I hung out with Kath and her friends for a while then headed home for dinner. I got to have a home cooked meal, ham steak and mashed potatoes.

Now it's already late and I'm once again rushed so I'll post this, make breakfast, then head to school.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 16, 2011
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!