I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 06, 2018 - 11:09 a.m.

Rompre le Pain

As Tolkien pointed out times that are good to experience are not always good to write about. I had a great day yesterday but how much can I write about sitting in the Union Square Pain Quotidian with Katherine for four hours? It's the perfect place for us to meet, one train for each of us. I can get there in "just" an hour and fifteen minutes. I have that damn Pro-Truth Pledge on the page, so I must be honest. To make it that fast I took two trains, I switch to the express at 125th street and no matter where I go I start with a bus.

Pain Quotidian is on the corner of the block my old therapist is on. I used to stop there for Coffee on the way. I never realized there was a sit-down table service restaurant in the back till Carolann suggested we meet there for a similar get-together. She's on the same subway line as Katherine. I heavily recommend it if you want to just hang out with a friend. We were there till closing and nobody rushed us out. It's a pleasant environment with good food and wi-fi. I had a Belgian Waffle with chocolate sauce. It was a sweet Liege waffle, though they didn't say that on the menu. I'm a waffle enthusiast. The coffee is great too.

The best part was the conversation; I can't guarantee you'll find it as good. I'm always out and on the go doing things but I love sitting talking to a friend as much as anything. It just doesn't give me much to write about, just like the months Frodo spent in Rivendell were covered in just a few pages in the Lord of the Rings.

When I'm not sitting at my computer trying to write I come up with many ideas for blogs; most of them are on what think of as cognitive traps that people fall into. I have one that I just added to my diary ideas. The list is huge. The problem is that I have to be in the right mood to play Old Testament Prophet. Most of the time I don't want to share those thoughts, I just want to use my mind control to turn you around without you being aware of it. I could do that but it's not ethical.

Every day I also think about writing something so TMI I can't even say something more without making some of you queasy. I think it's fascinating, but I have enough theory of mind to realize you don't want to hear it.

You know what I'm going to fill the rest of this entry with? Nothing. I told you what was important. I'll just summarize and then eat. I spent two days in a row spending one-on-one time with a friend, Katherine yesterday and Dan the day before. That's a wonderful thing. Next time you find yourself in that situation stop for a second and appreciate it. Just make sure you choose your friends as wisely as I do. Don't tell Dan I said that about him.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 06, 2018
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!