I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 14, 2015 - 1:02 p.m.

Kool Kat and Dangerous Dan

By this time I'm usually upset if I haven’t finished writing. I'm just starting now. I somehow slept till 11:04. I hate doing that. It's an anxiety thing. At first I was anxious about going to sleep and then about waking up.

Last night Fred emerged from hibernation. You probably didn't know that he's a bear. But each winter he goes into academic hibernation and doesn't go to concerts for three months then arouses from his torpor in the spring hungry for music. His first course was Kat Quinn at Rockwood Music Hall Stage 1. We were joined by Dan and his friend Jordan. She drew a big crowd, that was nice to see. As is often the case Kat was joined by Jo Kroger and Caitlin Mahoney. I love the way they harmonize. It isn't just the sound, it's the arrangements. Plus they are all friends and have a great vibe.

Then on one song Caitlin and Jo left the stage and Kat asked Dan up to join her! He didn't tell me that was going to happen. They decided to surprise me. I introduced them at NERFA. So I get credit for them collaborating. Did you give me the credit? Is it on my permanent record? Good. They did a brand new song. It was great of course though Dan is not as cute as Jo or Caitlin. Sorry Dan.

I introduced both Dan and Fred to Kat. They had the good sense to become a fan. You should to. I want to see more of my friends at her shows. She has the spark. If you aren't paying attention you might think, "another pretty girl with a uke." Well she is a pretty girl and she does have a uke on some songs but she is not a pretty girl with a uke. There's substance to her songs. She isn't Taylor Swift. But she did a Taylor Swift song. She always covers some pop idol that I hate and totally rearranges their songs so that it becomes Kat's worst song but way better than the original. It's very much like Richard Thompson's cover of Oops I Did it Again. This time it was Shake it Out which might just be the worst song ever written. By total coincidence I forced myself to watch the entire video the night before. That which does not kill us makes us strong. But that's not my point. My point is that I want to see you at Kat's next show. You can be pretty sure I'll be there.

As the set ended Ben Rabb came over and said hello. I met Ben at NERFA and he met Kat there. I don't get credit for that one. After the set Fre d left but Dan, Jordan, Ben and I went over to Rockwood 0 the bar next door. Kat and a slew of her other friends went there too. I introduced Ben to Dan and they talked shop. We were there quite some time. Oh I asked Kat if I can be on her next record. A balloon has to be popped on it and she had trouble getting it to sound good on the recording. I told her that I'd do it! I apparently have competition for the job. But I want it. My life's dream is to have a musical credit on an album. I will be the balloon player. Some of my best friends have been balloons, there was Balloona and Ballonatic and Vugoon.

You thought I was kidding. I'm not sure if that's Balloona or Balloonatic. Carey. took it and she's not sure either.

I took a ton of pics last night but it's late and I don’t want to take the time to edit them now. I'll show you one Fred took. Fred don’t sue me for using it without permission.


Kat and Dan

We hadn't eat so Dan, Jordan and I then went to eat. We lost Ben then. Notice the party keeps shrinking? We went to that diner on Houston Street. I'm sure it has a name but "that diner on Houston Street" always works fine as a name. They are very good. I had chicken and waffles. I had it once before but it was on a stick and at a fast food place and sucked. This was great. I have a new addiction. Maple syrup on chicken should not be good but it is. Time does not pass in the diner. I am not talking subjective experience. There's a very large clock on the wall and the hands don't move. We got there at a quarter of six and left at a quarter to six. Time kept flowing outside and it was 11:30 when we left. Kat's show ended at 8:00. No idea how much time we spent in each place. We had a very far ranging conversation.

I lost all respect for Dan. He hates Radio Lab! And he doesn't like Dylan or Elvis Costello! But he does like Dawes and Taylor Swift! I deserve sainthood for not slugging him.

Why do I have any friends? Oh right I don't.

OK now I'm hungry. It is almost one and I have to post this then start cooking. Bacon and eggs? No I think an omelet.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 14, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!