I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 24, 2018 - 11:11 a.m.

The Justice League of Horvendile

I wimped out yesterday and stayed home. I didn't even do the shopping I needed to do. Needed is too strong a word, I don't need garlic Texas toast, it just feels like I do. I do need laundry detergent, but I don't need to do laundry.

I did pick a good day to say home, Bernie and Jane went out, so I had the house to myself. That meant I got to watch The Flash and Black Lightning on TV as they were broadcast instead of the next day on my computer. I overindulged on ice cream; I can resist anything but temptation.

I spend a lot of time, most of my time, by myself. I always have and that's directly related to my blogging. No matter what else I'm doing I'm also thinking. My mind walks down a path then jumps to another. Part of me observes that and considers how I would write about it here. Then all too often when I sit down at the computer I don't remember what I wanted to say. Other times I remember but decide that I don't want to write it; sometimes it's too personal, more often I fear My Gentle Readers will enjoy it. I have one possibility for today, but I'll put it off for one more paragraph while I write something easy.

Last night my friends Seth and Emily announced their engagement. You might recognize Emily as my fiancée. This didn't upset me, as I have multiple fiancées (stupid Word doesn't think that fiancée has a plural) there is no reason Emily can't have another fiancé. I love Seth; he's make an excellent brother-fiancé. I wish them all the best. If Emily makes me chocolate ganache I'll be happy.

Like Jurgen there is nothing I enjoy more than observing the workings of my own mind. There are times I'll notice something, and my reaction will be, "I think that?" More often it's "Yes, that explains so much." One trait that explains many different things is my passion for justice. I want everything to be fair and it bothers me when it isn't. I know that the world isn't fair but that doesn't stop me from being upset when it isn't. That explains most of my politics. Equal rights are wired deep inside my operating system. I'm offended by discrimination. I will defend the rights of all groups facing discrimination, the obvious, blacks, Hispanics, women, gays, and Muslims, but also those that in some sense did things to deserve being treated differently. I'm not only strongly for the rights of the accused but also for the convicted. Committing a crime doesn't stop you from being a human being and deserving of respect.

I'll get more pushback when I demand that people whose politics I abhor should be treated fairly. There are countless legitimate things to criticize Trump and the GOP for. We should not be attacking them for things we'd be offended if they would use to attack Obama.

It's not just politics though. I get upset when athletes that don't deserve to be all-stars or Hall-of-Famers are elected. My blood pressure rises whenever I'm reminded that Jack Morris is in the baseball Hall of fame. After more than 25 years get angry that Lost Boys was a hit while the vastly superior Near Dark wasn't. Why was the wrong youth vampire film the one that caught on?

It happens all the time in music. A friend was surprised that I described a musician as my bête noire. The friend just thought that zhe was nothing special. My friend is perhaps right, but the fact that someone who is nothing special gets accolades that are denied far more talented people is an injustice I find difficult to accept. Whenever I go to see a musician I love in a tiny place or an empty house I get mad.

There's a discussion going on in the Falcon Ridge Facebook group on who we want to be booked this year. So many people say the usual suspects that play often. Don't they realize that there are people just as good, that there are artists that are better, that are never given the chance? It's not fair.

Look at that Mencken quote on the top of the page. That comes from the desire for justice. Even scoundrels deserve to be treated fairly. Even people that don't treat others fairly, deserve to be treated fairly.

I almost forgot the stupidest expression of my sense of justice. As a kid, and to this day, I'm mad that during the first season of Gilligan's Island the Professor and Maryann were left out of the theme song, they were referred to as, "the rest." Another sitcom injustice from the sixties; it was grossly unfair that Darren wouldn't let Samantha use witchcraft to do housework. It's pure sexism; to protect his male ego he wouldn't let his wife use her natural talents and make her life easier.

Now I'm going to treat myself fairly and have breakfast. I wish I had some garlic Texas toast to have with it. I'll settle for hameggandcheese on a toaster waffle. The waffle is low quality, but the maple syrup is real.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 24, 2018
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!