I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 14, 2017 - 7:26 p.m.

The Good, The Oblivous, and the Schmucky

Yesterday's adventure, was not very adventurous; I went to my post office box at Columbus Circle. What was in the box was exciting, my Falcon Ridge tickets.

I came home during rush hour, that means crowded trains on the most crowded subway line, Lexington Ave. I observed my fellow riders and divided those getting onto the train into three categories that I will assign names to.

Some people wait for everyone to get off the train, then try to leave room for the others on the platform by going as deep into the car as they can. I call these, good people.

Some wait for everyone to get off the train then move in just far enough to leave personal space around them and take no notice of the other people who are struggling to find room to board. I call them, oblivious people.

Then there are those that start pushing their way on the car the second the door opens and block the people trying to exit. I call them, schmucks. For the first offense, they should be banned on the subway for a week. The ban will be doubled for each subsequence offense.

I told my therapist that I was not judgmental; I should amend that. I'm not judgmental about anything but solipsism.

What inspired this was an oblivious person. Zhe got as far as arms-length from the pole and stopped. I was right behind zim and was blocked. That meant everyone had to squeeze in behind me. We managed but we were pressed against each other. I was pressed hard against the oblivious person but zhe would not budge even though zhe had so much room in front of zim.

I never meditated yesterday. That meant I never read the responses to the Evite for my birthday party. Congratulate me, I didn't meditate but I read them today. Nobody said, "I'm not coming because I hate you!" So far eight people are coming and there are three maybes. Some of the noes wrote nice notes. I knew people would have other obligations. Two bands that I invited multiple members of have gigs that day. The next Folk Fights Back concert is that night. Hell, I'm mad that I can't make it. I don't know the lineup but I'll bet I invited at least three people on the bill. Hey, I just got another maybe for the party. Things are shaping up.

I was going to write something related to yesterday's blog but I forgot what it is and I have run out of time to write. I have to eat and go to therapy.

I ended up not posting this and figured I'd write more when I got home. Now that I'm home I have an adventure to relate but if I do that now I'll have nothing to post tomorrow. I'll add one more event that happened yesterday, an adventure in bad parenting.

On the 6 train on the way home I sat next to a very well-behaved boy. He was nine or ten. He just sat there quietly and played a video game on his phone or game device. He even had the sound off so it wouldn't bother people. I couldn't figure out who his parent was. Nobody seemed to interact with him. Nobody glanced at him. He seemed young to be traveling alone but it does sometimes happen and he seemed so mature. As we approached Pelham Bay, the last stop, he got up and walked over to this woman with a stroller that was sitting on another bench, that was his mother. I had noticed her before because the baby was howling. I was thinking about how that's as annoying as all hell but there's often nothing a parent can do to help it and it's something we have to learn to live with. That was not the bad parenting.

As we started to pull in he said something to his mother. I didn't notice what. She then let out a tirade. She had been totally involved on a phone call and she let her son have it for talking to her while she was on the phone. She told him that he was totally inconsiderate and disrespectful. Then it got worse. She told him that he was just like his father, "You look like him and you're disrespectful like him." It went on with more complaints about the father and the son. I'm not a parent but I know you don't poison a kid against his other parent and you don't demean him. I felt so sorry for the kid but there's nothing you can do in that situation; or is there? Do any parents have any feedback on this? That can include me being too hard on the mother. I worry about that too. Now I'll wait for the kitchen to free up an I'll make dinner. Tomorrow you'll hear about the anxiety inducing adventure of today.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 14, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!