I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 17, 2014 - 10:08 a.m.

Ode an die Freude

I'm very tired and could just wait till tomorrow to write and skip a day but I think I'll feel better if I write now. I'm in a strange space and that's just wrong as I had a great day. But I'm getting ahead of myself I have two full days to cover and Kathy wants to know what I had and how I got there.

Yesterday was my Fantasy Baseball league's all-star game party. We had it at at at do I have to look this up? I mean I know where it is. I just don't know the name. It's Foley's right by the Empire State Building. I didn't know what time it started, I figured near the start of the all-star game and planned on getting there at 8:00. It started closer to 4:30 OY. Marc had to leave by 9:30 There was not a great attendance. Out of 12 teams only four showed up. In the old days 11 did. There was Marc, Angelo, Chris, and I. Foley's a baseball theme bar. I missed the party last year, Jack Morris was there. Yes the pitcher. Not at our party but at the restaurant. I know you all want to know what I ordered. I had the Sean Casey�s Irish Burger - topped with Irish Bacon + fried egg. It was amazingly good. They made it perfectly, rare but not raw.

This is my male bonding night. We talk sports and geek things. Marc loves watching Angelo and I geek out of things like the film Pacific Rim. Name a science fiction show from our childhood and we are off to the races. I didn't have that much time with the guys but it was fun.

Today was a rarer occasion, I spent the day with Joyous Joy. Joy is from Sante Fe, NM but lives in Melbourne VIC as in Victoria as in Australia. So this is not just a casual trip. I met Joy, when she still lived in Sante Fe, at a Moxy Fr�vous concert. She was all of 16. She had come east to check out colleges. She was up at the head of the line near me. I was the tender age of 42 maybe 41. But the way Fr�heads culture worked all ages mixed together. She ended up attending Swarthmore. That's in Philly so I saw her when she was in college. She came to Bayside for my first house concert with Ruth Gerson. More often I saw her in Philly when I was down there seeing LORi. if we had plans she'd like we'd include her and sometimes just stop by her dorm for a visit. From there her life got complicated. Since graduation she has lived in Paris, London, South Africa, Qatar, and now Australia. She came to the US via Southeast Asia, Europe and Canada. She has friends around the world. I'm happy and proud to be one of them. No matter where's she's lived or how long it's been since we've seen each other we never lost touch and never let the friendship fade away. So she spent a day in New York and the daylight hours with me.

She and Daniel took a bus here from Montreal, they started deeper in the province, and planned on arriving at 7:30 AM. arranged to meet them at 8:00 at the luggage storage place I discovered in my vagabond days. Then we were off to my favorite breakfast/brunch place, Petite Abeille in Chelsea. We were met there by Heather. Heather studied dramaturgy in college and when I told her that I learned the word from Joy who studied it too she wanted to meet her.

When I found out that I was going to meet Daniel I told Joy that I had to give him my approval or she'd have to break up with him. He won me over right away when I saw his sketchbook. He has an old autograph book from the 1940s and each day of their trip he draws a picture of something they saw. I expected pencil sketches but he paints them. They are fantastic. He should find a way of mass producing it and sell it. It�s a far better record of their trip than any photo album.

And now back to what My Gentle Readers care about, the food. We split a large order of pofferjes, small Flemish pancakes that are so light they'll float to the ceiling if you aren't careful, and liege waffles. Then we each ordered our own main dish and we all got the same thing the egg sandwich with spinach, bacon, and cheddar on Ciabatta. Guess what I left off of mine. Heather insists that it's better with the spinach. She's clearly wrong.

Then we were off to the Metropolitan Museum of Art. We took the scenic route, the to the Museum of Natural History then we walked across Central Park.

Joy showed why she is my friend by wanting to start with the Temple of Dendor. The museum is too huge to see more than a small part of it on one visit but I will always see that. It's like going to see the dinosaurs at the Museum of Natural History. We spent a lot of time I the Egyptian wing then heather wanted to see the costume exhibit right below it. That was basically Joy and Heather clothes shopping. They didn't buy anything.

After that Heather had to leave and we went up to the European and Contemporary sections. I need to go to the museum more often. Joy and Daniel need to come back and go with me again.

We then had a fancy meal of New York Street hot dogs that we ate on the museum steps. That's where Daniel did his sketch. Amazing, in five minutes he made great art. I'm usually jealous of my musician friends but I am jealous of all artists. As both Cabell and Tolkien realize creative artists have the power of a god.

They had to meet friends for dinner in Tribeca so I accompanied them. We talked about what they might do afterward and I mentioned the free Sharon Jones/Lake Street Dive show right in the neighborhood in what used to be called the World Financial Center. We looked up the details and saw that they needed tickets. So we walked over there. I didn't see where to get the tickets but I did see the WfUV and John Platt. I introduced him to my friends and asked him and he pointed us in the right direction. There were only a few tickets left and they scored them.

I am not telling you the most important parts. It was all just little thing said. Things like platypodes! Little connections we have with each other that aren�t form our shared history but from the way our minds work. Hell look at her Facebook cover pictures.

That's an echidna, a spiny anteater, my animal totem! They saw it in the wild. That can happen in Australia.

I'm not a big fan of Sharon Dapp which why I wasn't planning on going to the show. That and Brittany Haas was playing Jalopy with Michael Daves and she's on my never miss list. But a funny thing happened on the way there. First I realized that I had planned on going to Trader Joe's between Joy and the show and now I wouldn't have time and there were things I needed. Secondly I realized I was exhausted. So I went to Trader Joe's, came home and crashed. I hated not spending more time with Joy. I hated missing Brittany. But my body told me it was the right choice.

I recovered enough to start writing but then got a phone call and couldn't finish. I didn't rewrite the first part as I like to document that sort of thing here. Revealing the writing process os part of the writing process for me.

I seem to have nothing on calendar today. What's going on at Seegerfest. I might end up there.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 17, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!