I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

December 26, 2012 - 12:18 a.m.

What I Like About Jewmongous

I have nothing particular to do now so I might as well write. I don't have to update in the morning. I used to do it at night all the time. And actually there is no reason I can't write it now then post it in the morning. The one thing I am not going to do now is play online. If I don't write I'll read.

Something is wrong with my left eye. Everything is blurry. For a long time I was getting this in the morning and it would go away. now it the norm. This is just what I need a health problem I can't afford to take care of. My life is becoming a series of disasters.

I spent Christmas day at the Last Homely House West of the Mountains then went out tonight to City Winery to see Jewmongous. That's Sean Altman's annual holiday show of Jewish themed novelty songs by himself and guests. He has been doing it for years. My first was 2000, it might have been his first too. I hardly wrote anything about it in Wise Madness. I don't know why. I went with Marti, one of the first things we did together and I did say that she rocks. She told me about the show. What I did write is that I went away from it loving Deni Bonet who was one of the guests. It is where I discovered her. In those days the show was called "What I Like About Jew" and Sean had a partner, Rob Tannenbaum. It all came out of a song they wrote, Hanukah with Monica about Monica Lewinsky. They did the show together for years then about 5 or 6 years ago they each had their own show. I could only guess that they had a falling out, I never felt like I should ask Sean about it. Sean's show had another name before Jewmongous but I'm blanking on it. Rob's is "It's Good for the Jews." I have continued to see Sean's shows I never saw Rob's. After missing a few years I went last year with Lena. This year I wanted to go with Marti again but she couldn't make it. Neither could Melissa. I really should have asked other Jewish friends but with my life in such turmoil that wasn't easy. So the question was if I should go alone. It is a tradition and I've done all this Christmas stuff so I felt I needed to do something to keep my Jewish membership card. But that isn't what really convinced me. What did was that Rob was one of the guests. A little background about me. When I was a kid I loved Popeye. My favorite cartoons were the ones where Popeye and Bluto were friends. In some they were best friends who would do anything for each other. I loved those.

Now I watch Phineas and Ferb. What do I love? When we see that Dr. Doofenshmirtz and Perry the Platypus aren't just nemeses but friends that care about each other.. I liked when Maxwell Smart and Seigfried showed that the liked each other. I like a world where people, and well monotremes, love each other despite conflicts. So I couldn't resist Sean and Rob's reconciliation. They didn't disappoint me either. They did their old songs and in addition to laughing because they are very funny I felt good because they were doing them together. So yes I was at a show where Sean could sing about the joys of drinking Christian Baby Blood but still feel all warm inside. I'm a softy but that doesn't mean I don't like hard edged humor.

The only other guest was Cindy Kaplan who I think has been doing it from the beginning. The first time I saw her I didn't like her. I thought she went too far. I was nuts. She's great and I learned that the second time I saw her. There are songs she's done every year and I laugh every year. Just saying "Cindy Christ" will make me laugh. No I am not going to explain that. You'll have to see the show or buy her CD if you want it explained. She actually gets better every year. She gets cuter too. Shouldn't she be aging? I age. Why doesn't she?

What was depressing is that I didn't know a single person in the audience. I didn't talk to anyone all evening. I could have stopped to talk to Sean and Cindy but instead I headed home. Next year you'll go with me right? It really is incredibly funny. The entire audience laughs out loud. If you aren't Jewish you can be the token goy who is constantly toyed with. Tonight it was Dina.

It was a lot easier to get to and from City Winery when I lived in Ft. Greene. I got on the C Train out my front door and got off a block from the venue. I took me 15 or 20 minutes. From the Last Homely House it took me three trains or two trains and a half mile walk. I opted for the former going and the latter coming home.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile December 26, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!