I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

October 02, 2013 - 5:06 p.m.

All I Want is Love and You and Music Music Music

I hate writing in Print Layout so much I feel the need to mention it every time I open Word and it is in Print Layout. Does anyone know why you have to jump through hoops to get Word to open I Draft? Why is it the only view discriminated against? Is it because it's the only one I like to work on and Bill Gates hates me?

I pretty much never get writer's block but I often get typing block. I know what I want to write but it's hard to get myself actually typing. That's pretty much the story of my life. I'm always bubbling with ideas but have trouble putting them into action. That's why I would make a better presidential advisor than a president. So if you know Obama tell him I'd take the job.

Last night I went to the Rock Shop, a bar and music venue not a mineral store, to see Lily Henley - Jean Rohe - Baby States-Miss Tess Acoustic feat. Thomas Bryan Eaton. Not sure who sent me the invite but Jean and Tess are on my see as often as possible list so I wasn't missing both of them. To make it even better if I the trains are times right I can get there in 21 minutes To make it even betterer (hey I can invent words if I want) it is only three blocks from my bank and I had to go there. Doors were at 7:30 and I was able to time things so perfectly that I got there at 7:31. I had to wait a few minutes for the guy doing the doors to get to his post. I discovered that there was no need to get there that early but I'm me and I'm much rather be early when I don't have to than not get a good seat or a seat at all or a bad place to stand. I didn't know the setup there. It is one of those rectangular rooms with benches along the side walls. Though I can and will stand during a show and I would rather stand and see that sit, If I can sit I will and I took my seat halfway back on one side. From the order they are listed you'd think that Jean went on second from the end but she went on first. The billing had nothing to do with order of appearance. That was nice though as she was there early and I got to talk to her before the show. She showed me the prototype of her new CD. The packaging is a work of art. She did what I've been suggesting to people for years, the case is origami and unfolds! Inside there are cards with the lyrics on one side and an essay about the song on the other. It's like Bob Dylan had on his early albums where both the jacket and sleeve were filled with content. I can't wait to get it and sit there listening to the music while reading the lyrics and essays and admiring the artwork.

This was one of her rare solo shows. She does different material than when she plays with the large End of the World band. My thought was that she sings differently too but I'm not really sure. It might just be the general effect. When she's with the band she's pretty much singing Art Songs and the singing seems to fit that. When she is solo it is more along the lines of what Dar does. Very simple singing, though her music is never very simple. She is going to have to release an album of her solo material. I'm hooked. Pretty much everything she does blows me away. Whatever she does there is a lot of there, there.

Next up was Baby States. I had never heard of them but Stephanie Coleman played fiddle with them. This led me to break down and admit that everyone else is right, I DO know everyone. I wanted to like them. They had Stephanie, They had a banjo and a baritone sax. The front man Yodarian syntax he used. And I perhaps would have loved them if he stuck to the banjo. The problem was that his guitar had a horrible buzz. I'm guessing something was wrong with the jack. I can usually get past that kind of thing but not this time. I'd certainly give them another chance. I know that good people like them.

When I was listening to them I got lost in thought and zoned out of the world. Then I felt an arm around me; funny how that doesn't startle me. That was the second time that's happened recently and both times I could just feel that it was someone I know and liked. It was Emily Elbert. She's like Gandalf. She's an itinerant musician (not wizard) and you never know when she's going to show but you are always happy when she does. I did NOT good morning her. I hugged her back. I don't think either Bilbo or Gandalf were the hugging type. I often associate Jean and Emily. I liked them both quite a bit the first time I saw them. Then they each went to the crossroads and when they returned their music reached new heights. Funny thing after selling their souls to the devil they are both still adorable.

Next up was Lily Henly. It was late and I hadn't eaten and I was hoping that Miss Tess was next and that I wouldn't like Lily so I could leave early. Then I heard someone say hi to me, It was Jordan Tice. I saw that he was coming on Facebook. What I didn't know was that he was playing with Lily. That dashed my hopes of her not being good. If Jordan was playing guitar with her she takes her music seriously and has good taste. I know Jordan because he plays with Brittany Haas.. Folk is a small incestuous world. Emily knows Jordan and Lily too. That's why she was there. When Lily took the stage I couldn't really see her because she was right under a light shining in my eye. I had no idea what she looked like. But I loved what she sounded like I became an immediate fan. She played fiddle and sang and was accompanied by a second fiddler, Jordan on guitar and a stand-up bass. So yes now I have someone else on my must see list. There are not enough days in the year to hear everyone I want to hear. After the show I said hello to her and still did not recognize her but she said she knew me. Then I saw her in better light and knew immediately who she was. I felt stupid. I know I always forget names but not faces.

After talking to Lily I heard someone say "hi" to me. Yes I do know everyone. It was coming from the dark corner of the room but I knew that's where Tess was and I thought it was her but it didn't sound like her. Know why? It wasn't. It was the blond woman I couldn't make out was sitting next to her. That was no stranger, that' was Aoife O'Donovan who I've known far longer than anyone else there. And yes this was another of the shows I went to where everyone I knew in the audience was a musician. Actually everyone knew on and off stage has been on John Platt's On Your Radar except for Jordan. I guess I'll have to talk to John about that.

Last up was Miss Tess. She also was in an unusual configuration, an acoustic duo backed by Bryan Eaton. I had seen her do that one other time. Like Jean it was different material than her band shows, totally different sound. She's someone with a very distinctive sound and it's great to see that she is more than that. She simply makes great music.

It was a shame that the crowd was small as this was an amazing show. There was so much real talent. They are all musicians' musicians.

Wow I had so much else I wanted to write about but I have to write a test. I could do it at home or wait till tomorrow and come in but I should do it now.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile October 02, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!