I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 16, 2010 - 12:35 p.m.

Jim Dandy

OK I have to actually start writing. I've been up for two hours and meant to start as soon as I got on the computer. Damn Chronoklepts keep stealing my time. They are also attacking YouTube. Recently when I try to upload the time to finish instead of going down keeps going up. I had to post something for Kelly yesterday and after 3 failed attempts that took hours I gave up and uploaded to Picasa. YouTube seems to be working. Only 19 minutes left on my upload. You'll get a special treat.

Last night I went to see Jim's Big Ego at the Living Room. I say that every time they're in town but more of you need to see them. For all you Fr�heads Pandora lists them as he artists closest to Moxy Fr�vous and visa versa.

I always have pronoun trouble with Jim's Big Ego, they are a band, Jim, Jesse, and Dan, but Jim's the one I know and sometimes performs solo. That isn't fair to Jesse and Dan as they rock. The band rocks. The music is all electric, yet somehow they live in the folk world. Do intelligent lyrics make you folk?

Not enough of my friends see JBE with me. I had two somewhat surprising ones yesterday. One was Lori not LORi who I see all the time but is surprising because she never saw or heard of JBE before. She was there because of my recommendation. I still can't get over that people listen to me.

The other friend was Deirdre who came up for Philly for the show.

Be jealous, I got to sit at a table with two beautiful women watching Jim's Big Ego.

When I got there I showed Jim my t-shirt and told him it was my song request. It looks like this. Can you figure out what song I wanted? You got it, Math Prof Rock Star. They got caught in traffic and missed their sound check. Instead they rehearsed shouting on Allen Street. This was not good for Jim's voice. He found that he couldn't sing it. Instead of disappointing me he on the spot recast it as a Lou Reed song and the band with no preparation was able to play along. This might be better than the original.

That's pure genius.

I'm going to show you the photos as a slide show but I'll show you a couple. The only reason is I want one for the blurb I'll post on Facebook and the other because I'm proud of the caption. It's on the slide show too but I want to make sure you see it. You don't need to be jealous of that.


Jim warm's up by singing with his tongue hanging out


Jesse and his anorexic bass


Unfortunately Deirdre had to rush to catch a bus back to Philly after the show and couldn't hang out. Lori and I went to the Crepe place down the block and I had my usual chocolate/peanutbutter/halvah crepe. Yes that's my usual. Don't give me that look. The proper reaction is more jealousy.

I've read more of In A Sunburned Country and my enthusiasm is returning. It helped that he was writing about the aborigines, they have always fascinated me. When I was a kid my father told me that they weren't modern humans but more primitive. This isn't because my father was ignorant or a bigot. It's because that was what was taught when he was growing up. In fact it was taught until shortly before I was growing up.

The Aboriginal culture is one of the most primitive on earth but 30,000 years ago they were by far the most advanced. It's a fascinating history. They made their way to Australia in boats of some sort tens of thousands of years before anyone else invented boats. At the time, during the last ice age, Australia was a lush tropical paradise and pretty much the best place for humans to live on earth. When the glaciers retreated it became the hot dry place that most of it is today.

My fascination with Australia began as a child. I had the one free volume of an encyclopedia of animals and looking at the photos of kangaroos, platypuses, Tasmanian devils, and the rest got me hooked. I've always wanted to go there. Of course every time I heard Waltzing Matilda I want to return to Australia. I've never been there. No matter.

On the ride home on the subway I laid out that last section on aborigines and Australia in my head and it led to me laying out a section on my writing. Yes I can't resist self referential content. That's part of what I want to write about. My writing style here is informal and usually conversational. In fact most of the time in my FB blurbs I refer to what I talk about not what I write about. I think about it as if you were in the room with me. Despite that I use literary devices. I plan things out. I treat it as literature in every way but one. I don't edit and rewrite an essential part of good writing. The reason is if I did that I'd never actually write anything. I prefer imperfect entries to no entries. I hope you feel that way too.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 16, 2010
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!