I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 02, 2014 - 1:33 p.m.

I Speak Music

Not getting an early start today. it's noon. I've been in a weird place. I've had the inertia of depression without being depressed. I just can't get moving. But I'm feeling good and that's something.

So last night I had a doubleheader but it was only half musical. First I went to a party. Yes I'm a party animal. it was at Heather's house. Till Jann arrived I was about the age of the next two oldest people combined. But we spoke the common tongue of Doctor Who so we could communicate. I helped heather make the frosting for the cake and was rewarded by getting to lick one of the beaters. And that just sounds like a sexual euphemism. You can't get around that. Of course when we were in Havre de Grace there was "Lick the Beater" ice cream. I thought it was "Lick the Beaver" and said so. LORi, Phil, and Allison decided that was when I crossed the line. Maybe Paul and Steve too. Aaron? It was the SMAF crowd.

I'm going to see if I remember any names. There was Sarah, Kate, Cam, Dan, and people who had no names. Yes that's it. At least it wasn't a horse with no name. That I couldn't put up with.

I couldn't stay long at the party but I got to meet people and eat hot dogs and and a potato, marinara, parmesan dish. Oh and Heather gave me chocolate cake for the road. She knew I was crushed about not having time to eat it. I told her my rule. I love all people that give me chocolate more than any person that hasn't given me chocolate.

Then I was off to Joe's Pub to see I Speak Music: Featuring Sasha Papernik, Nanny Assis, Puma Sojola and Andrea Jones Sojola. This was an outgrowth of a series they did for children at Carnegie Hall. Kids heard great music from divergent cultures. Sasha as you might have picked up from her name covered Russian music. I met her at Joe's pub when I sat with her at an Amigos Band show. She's Justin's fianc�. Justin played guitar in the band last night.


Sasha singing, Melissa Tong on Violin and Justin Poindexter on guitar

Sasha organized the show. She did a great job. This so much fun.


Andrea and Puma did Gospel and African music.


Nanny does Brazilian music.


Sasha does most of her music at the piano.

What they all did was get the audience involved. We were singing and even dancing. yes even me. OK, I guess it isn�t surprising that I was singing and dancing. What made it all work is not that they performers were fun but they all had musical chops. The music was great in and of itself.

I got to be rhythmically challenged on one song by Nanny. It's Brazilian so you know there's rhythm involved. the clapping was not on 2 and 4, it was on 1 and 3, but, it was also on 2. It was on 1-2-3-pause; Not something the audiene is used to You know I have enough trouble with 2 and 4. But the woman next to me, who was a fan of Nanny and knows this music couldn't do it and didn't seem to realize she was off. I thought she was clapping on every beat but that wasn't it. she just got out of synch with the rest of us and sometimes there was a clap on 4. Then she'd drift some more and they would come on the half beats. I had enough trouble without her next to me. I had to fight to block her out and to keep the beat right myself

How many people have said that kind of thing about me over the years?


The show was educational and Justin explained the balalaika. I never knew it had two nylon strings tuned alike and a third metal string that's different. See what you can learn going to concerts?

When they did the show on the bigger stage at Carnegie Hall there were dancers. One of them came up for one song.

The show was so different than what I usually hear and totally wonderful. There's so much out there and it's so diverse. Part of the charm of the show was putting together these totally diverse genres

I wonder if I had to order something. They say there is a minimum but at the later shows I'm not sure if they enforce it. I got their fries which is less than the minimum and nobody gave me a hard time at all.

This show of international music ended with an as American song as you can get, This Land


Finale

This was a unique Joe's Pub show as they didn't kick us out after 70 minutes, The show was about 90 minutes and we hung out afterward. The only one I knew in the audience was Tara. I expected her there, both Sasha and Justin play in her band. we didn't arrange it but she sat just three seats away from me. Great minds thing alike. So after the show I talked to her and Sasha, and some people that I just met. It was getting late and was going to leave when I saw Justin and figured I'd give him a quick hello goodbye. Yes you know me to well to think I actually did that. I kept on talking for a long time. I met some more people, Melissa the violin player and Sasha & Justin's friend Yulia.

For the last weekend I had to deal with the shuttle bus. I finally got smart and got a seat on the closest to the stairs so I could not just get on the first bus but get a seat. I managed to get home a little before one o'clock.

I posted pictures on FB at the show and encountered the small world effect. Tara, not O'Grady, a different Tara, yes I know two Taras. Hey I now two Aoifes too. And 8000 variations on Katherine/Catherine. But that wasn't what I was talking about l was talking about Tara. Turns out that she's been friends with Puma and Andrea for ages. I then discovered that through totally different channels she's friends with Yulia. And of course she's my friend from a third channel. Yet we were all at the show together. And Fred knows Melissa the violin player and in fact at introduced her to me once. She plays with Vienna Teng and they sat with us at a Barnaby Bright show at the Living Room.

Ackk it's 1:30 and I have to get to therapy. I better stop writing and make breakfast. Breakfast sandwich is fast. I'll have that.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 02, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!