I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

December 12, 2015 - 1:12 p.m.

I'm With I'm With Her

Something great happened yesterday, Marty said he had an extra ticket to see I'm With Her at the Music Hall of Williamsburg and asked who wanted to go. I of course jumped right in there and screamed at the top of my virtual lungs;

ME!

I had been mourning that I could not afford to go to that show. I'm With Her is special. It's the trio of Sara Watkins, Sarah Jarosz, and Aoife O'Donovan. I was very jealous when Chris and Kevin posted pictures from the night before. I had lots of fun and less expensive musical options, some great ones, but this was my first choice and I jumped at the chance. It meant not picking up my mail but that can wait till Monday. Marty said that the doors were at 8 but he wanted to get a specific seat so he wanted to be there at 7:30 and that's what I planned on. Because it was still the tail end of rush hour when the trains run frequently it was not that bad a trip though it means going through Manhattan. The had some issues so I got there later than I wanted to, 7:36, I was the first one online, Marty was still eating his dessert next door. As we were first on the line we of course got the seats Marty wanted, up on the Mezzanine dead center. The venue is for the most part standing room. All the seats are in the Mezzanine. Isn't that the wrong term? Mezzanine comes from mezzono, middle. It is between the floor level and the balcony. This was the top level. But I don't know another word for it. The layout is almost exactly the same as the Bowery Ballroom where I'm With Her played the night before. They said we were a much better crowd and that the Manhattan audience was boring. Take that Kevin and Chris! I was bad; when they said "last night we played in Manhattan" I booed on Manhattan just as I do when Red Molly mentions that they live in New Jersey. Other people must have done the same thing as I can't believe the people down below me heard me well enough to laugh at me.

The opener was Michael Daves, the King of New York Bluegrass. He plays every Tuesday at Rockwood 1 but it's usually so crowded that nobody goes to that. Sorry Yogi. OK I don't go to it often. The music is great but it's uncomfortable in there. Last night I got to watch him in comfort. Usually I see him with tons of people playing with him, last night it was just him. I'd go to listen to him just play guitar, the man's hands fly. I could totally see Elvis doing one of the songs but there would have had to have been somebody else playing the guitar. That's funny as Michael looks a lot more like Buddy Holly than Elvis Presley. The crowd appreciated him as much as I did. He got a huge applause after his set.

I'm with her is the second supergroup harmony trio I've seen Aoife in, the other was Sometymes Why with Kristin Andreassen and Ruthy Unger Merenda. I'm With Her plays in front of much larger audiences but they feel is similar. They come across as three friends making music and having fun together, not putting on a show for an audience. I love that. I also love their musicianship, they can play. Oh and they can sing a little. That's using "a little" in the sense the evaluator said of Fred Astaire's screen test "… can dance a little." Their harmonies are divine. They have three very different voices but they blend so well. This is definitely more than the sum of the parts.

This was a special holiday show and they did a set of holiday songs with a band.

For tor the encore they brought the band back and did more Christmas songs and the audience joined them.

I have seen I'm With Her twice and they were two of the best shows of the year. This is something special, I hope they do it again.

After the show Marty lighted out and I decided to see if I could find someone I knew. I couldn't believe I didn't have any other friends at the show. I knew my friends would be downstairs near the stage and that's where I headed. The vast majority of the crowd was out by the time I got there but I found Stephanie and Lily. Not surprisingly they are both musicians. Musicians can recognize greatness. Just hearing Stephanie's excitement over the show was a joy.

I then headed home. Now it was late and the subways don't run as frequently. I checked Google Maps and Transit and they both said that the fastest way home was to walk a mile to the Washington Plaza and take the B46 bus from there. Once again something screwy happened with the bus. I tracked it on the MTA Bus times website. I said it would leave at 11:45 but it didn't leave till after Midnight. So I got home around 12:35.

Since I started going to Heather's House and the Living Room I got to know my way around Williamsburg so it was no problem walking to the bus. I remember some time ago seeing Rachel Trachtenburg play and I couldn't find my way to the bus stop so I took a cab home. Sadly, the two reasons I learned the neighborhood are gone or going. Heather moved back to Maryland and the Living Room is closing next month.

I don't seem to have anything on today's agenda so I will continue to rip NERFA CDs and prepare my radio show for Tuesday.

Now it's time for bacon and eggs.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile December 12, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!