I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 16, 2013 - 1:02 p.m.

I Love You And I Miss You

My wheels have been spinning this morning but I finally got some traction. Let's see if I can write this fast and get my day moving.

Yesterday after school I headed down to Penn Station to catch a train to see ilyAIMY at the Our Times Coffeehouse. As soon as I got there I kicked myself. Remember that I had been writing a song, You Looked So Linda Ronstadt I wanted to finish it by last night and sing it for the band since imagining them playing it proved an inspiration. The problem is that being me I never got around to it. I like the song quite a bit, maybe I'll try finishing it today and making a sound recording so I remember how it goes and then I can sing it for them the next time I see them. I was going to just spring it on them but now they will read it here so they can practice being polite when I make their ears bleed with my singing and songwriting.

I had great timing. I got to the venue just as Lori not LORi got out of her car and to make things even better the side door was open so we didn't have to walk around front. A little while later we were joined by Rona and Bob. Guess who sold the merch. Yet it was me. I do the merch there even when I haven't arranged to do it beforehand. I almost always know the performers. I think this is the first time ilyAIMY has played a show on Long Island other than the FRFF Preview Tour. I always make fun of their name and call it the worst band name ever. It stands for "I Love You and I Miss You." Don't ask, about the capitalization. But the thing is that is exactly how I feel about them. They play here so rarely that I love them and miss them.

Not only are they great musicians, not only are they wonderful friends, but their nerd quotient is off the charts. Who else has a song that has "Schwarzschild radius" in it. I can't believe that I never noticed till last night the appropriateness of the name. That's the radius a mass has to be to become a black hole. Do you know see why the name works? Schwarz is German for black. Schild means sign or plate or shield. I just looked up the latter. How could I never notice that it starts with the German for black before? I have a shirt with the Schwarzschild radius on it. I derived the formula for it in class. Duh, I just noticed that schild is a cognate of shield.

Martin, the host of the Our Times became part of the show when he joined them on flute. There is some sort of flouting his authority joke in there but I can't quite work it out. You may consider that a homework problem.

Even though I never see ilyAIMY this is my second time the last nine days. They played at 'Christopher Street on the 7th. So I'm almost out of things to say about them. They played a few mellow songs this time and I realized how if they did more songs like that it would seem natural. I always say what a rock and roll voice Heather has but it can also be sultry. She could sing torch songs. I�d love to hear her do Stormy Weather. But I still rather she rocked out. I don't get as much of that.

I'm an idiot. Despite the fact that they are one of my favorite bands I didn't have either of their albums. They were down to four copies of their first album so I got one last night. But that doen't have Kristen on it and isn't quite like most of what they do now. I was going to get the newer one and forgot to. It really isn't easy not having a brain.

I can't for the life of me figure out how they are not bigger. I have never seen them not blow the crowd away. They might not be for everyone, no one great ever is, but they should be packing Joe's Pub. They should be getting air play. Of course they have the greatest honor, an open invite to play the Budgiedome.

After the show Rona and Bob drove me to the train station. I missed the train there once and had to wait an hour for the next so I was over cautious and got there twelve minutes early. The trip home was very easy even though I had to change trains in Jamaica. The Brooklyn train was right across the platform and I'm an experienced enough commute to know to sit in the first car which is right by the subway. The train got there right after I got to the platform so I got home in about 50 minutes.

I talked about music and commuting what have I left out? Oh right, food. I had dinner at KFC in Penn Station. Popeye's is 25% cheaper and tastes better. I don�t think I'll KFC any more except to get fries. They do have great ones and different than anyone else's.

Today I'm off with Fred to see Natalie MacMaster. That's always special. I might not update tomorrow. I have secret plans. You won't find out what till Monday.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 16, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!