I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 08, 2017 - 9:40 a.m.

Tomorrow is the Hudson West Fest! Hurrah!

Last night I posed on Facebook that I wasn't going to blog this morning. I didn't lie, I was wrong. I woke up an hour early so now I have time. I don't have anything to write about but when did that ever stop me?

Yesterday did not go smoothly. I got a message that I had mail in my PO box last Friday. I couldn't pick it up. My post office is not open on Saturdays and Monday was Labor Day which meant picking it up on Tuesday. Come Tuesday I forgot. On Wednesday, I figured that on Thursday I was going to a concert in Brooklyn so I could wait one more day and pick it up on the way there. The last bus that will always get me to the post office before it closes is scheduled to leave at 3:51. A trip to the bathroom slowed me down an I arrived at the stop at 3:51. I missed the bus. I checked where it was on the website and suspect it got to my stop early. I can get to the post office before it closes half the time if I take the next bus and it comes on time. The next bus came 11 minutes late. If the first bus came 30 seconds late I'd have been fine. If the second came with the same kind of timing as the first bus I might have been fine. But no, the universe hates me so I hung my head and went home. I then didn't go to the concert as I wanted to save money and eat at home. My consolation prize was dessert. There was still bread pudding in the fridge. There was still chocolate Reese Cup ice cream in the freezer. I heated the pudding and topped it with the rest of the ice cream. That was not decadent enough so I topped that with U-Bet chocolate syrup. Sadly, I had no whipped cream. I tried to not let that disaster ruin my enjoyment. It didn't.

The reason I have to leave early today is that I'm going to go to my PO Box before therapy and take the train up from Manhattan. That does cost me an extra $4 for the commuter rail but I want my mail.

I won't be writing tomorrow; I'll be spending the day at the Hudson West Fest in Jersey City. I'm managing the merch volunteers. I can still refer to myself as the cute merch guy. I'm also the Instagram guy, look for live posts by me all day enticing you to join me. There will be pictures and videos. Follow us at Hudson West Fest. If you are there you might end up on our feed! If you say, "hey I want to be on Instagram" to me I'll take your picture, maybe even a video. It's from Noon till 10 PM. Here's the schedule


I had something else planned for today but now I just want to talk about the Festival. Paul, Matt, Bobtown, Abbie, and Mike + Ruthy from the Mammals have all played Budgiedome and John Platt's On Your Radar. M Shanghai, Dayna Kurtz, Sleeping Bee, and Diana Jones, have played OYR.

Cathedral Hall is a deconsecrated Catholic Church that is going to be reconsecrated with music. It's a beautiful building.

It's super easy to get there from the Grove Street PATH station, a 12-minute walk with one either one or two turns. Make sure to exit from the front end of the train coming from New York. It took me only 10 minutes.

The Board is largely made up of my friends.

All the advisors but the third from the end are my friends. What the hell is a folk ambassador? I hear tell that he's a sexy sexy monotreme.

  • Bill Brandenburg - Curator, Woodbridge Township's Music on Main Street, Woodbridge Wednesdays, and Country Sundays.
  • Abbie Gardner - Musician, member of Red Molly
  • Brian McCloskey, founder of Foul Rift Productions, and Board member for Godfrey Daniels, in Bethlehem, PA
  • Gordon Nash - Folk Ambassador, NE Region
  • Ron Olesko - DJ, "Traditions" on WFDU
  • Joe Pszonek - DJ, Radio Nowhere Internet Radio
Jim, David, and Karen are volunteering. The only thing that will make it better is if you are there too. When you read my blog about it you'll be jealous you weren't there.

Now I have to make breakfast then head out. What do I make for an early breakfast? Sausageeggandcheese on a bagel sounds right. I have to make something fast tomorrow too when I have to leave even earlier. I'll be leaving right about this time.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 08, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!