I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

December 16, 2017 - 11:36 a.m.

Cup of Orgasm

I slept late this morning; under other circumstances I might hold off writing till after breakfast and coffee, but I didn't write yesterday. I can't leave My Gentle Readers hanging that long.

I wimped out on Thursday night. I very much wanted to see the Folk Fight's Back show wat the Owl Music Parlor in Brooklyn. It was cold. I was tired. I wanted a home cooked meal. I didn't go. Check out the Website. There's a button to volunteer. Click it.

I did go into the City because I hadn't picked up my mail in almost two weeks. All I had was junk, that was disappointing. Then I went to Trader Joe's. They started carrying Bamba! That's a peanut snack from Israel. It's popularity there is given credit for Israel having a very low incidence of peanut allergies. Overprotective parents in America started keeping their kids away from peanuts because of fear of allergies. Not being exposed to peanuts when they were young leaves them more vulnerable to allergies when they are older. That's not why I'm excited. I'm excited because they are delicious and have a magical consistency. They are like soft cheese doodles that melt in your mouth. I will be buying them every trip to Trader Joe's.

As it was cold I treated myself to a No Chewing Allowed hot chocolate when I got home. This was a good food day.

Yesterday I had therapy. Jane couldn't drive me to New Rochelle. I slept late yesterday too. That combination is why I didn't write. Therapy was different. I let myself talk about things I wanted to talk about as opposed to dealing with anxiety. It proved a good idea as my therapist learned things about me that she didn't know. I felt better as they were things I can't talk about with anyone else. That's part of the idea of seeing a therapist. I've been focusing on practical matters, but I need this too. I can consider it a Festivus present to myself. We'll continue the discussion next week. I felt better for it.

The trip home was difficult. I had to wait 35 minutes in the cold for the 45 bus. It was late. Good thing I dressed appropriately. I had on my thermal socks, silk long underwear, and wore a sweater under my jacket. I had my Nepalese hat and mittens on too. I was ready for temperatures in the low twenties. That didn't stop me from having another cup of hot chocolate when I got home. There was a bonus with the hot chocolate. I finished last year's supply and opened this year's. It was a gift from Trisha. I thought she had given me two packs but she hadn't. One was of chocolate truffles! You drop one of them in the hot chocolate and it becomes a cup of orgasm. I enjoy dressing warmly and I enjoy hot chocolate. I don't want to live someplace where it never gets cold. Oh no, it's above freezing. I'm getting home late tonight, perhaps it will be cold enough to justify more hot chocolate. It doesn't need justification but it's my way of rationing it so it lasts.

I was productive ripping CDs last night. I still have a box to work my way through. I lost much of my music when my hard drive froze. Now I'm listening to the complete Beethoven string quartets. Do you know why? It's Beethoven's birthday! It's one of the greatest days for birthdays in the arts. It is also the birthday of Jane Austen and Arthur C. Clark. They are not only all great they are all personal favorites; there's a difference. They are my people. It's hard to imagine three more different personalities. One thing they have in common other than genius is that they were all unmarried. I was going to say they lived in different centuries but that's not true. I don't know why I thought it. Austen career overlapped with Beethoven's.

I'm not going to wimp out today or tomorrow. Tonight, I'm off to Paramus to go to a fundraiser for Puerto Rico. I helped book it. Carolann Solebello, Bobtown, The Lords of Liechtenstein, and the Levins will be among the performers. I don't know the others. I hope somebody can at least give me a ride to the George Washington Bridge where I can catch a shuttle bus. Tomorrow I'm off to see Robinson & Rohe's Longest Winter show in Red Hook. That has become an annual tradition.

Now for breakfast and coffee.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile December 16, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!