I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 24, 2014 - 11:33 a.m.

Just for the Hecht of It

I'm trying to get things done so I'm going to skip editing my photos and posting my video for now. I will get to them. Now I'm going to just write. Not that I know too much of what I'll write about.

Last time Robby Hecht was in town I had to miss him. I think it might have been the last two times. I think he was on opposite John Platt's On Your Radar. I know I talked to him when the show I was at and his show was over. In any event I wasn't going to miss him again.

I asked Heather if she wanted to go and she did and she invited me over for dinner first as it was a 9:30 show. I told her I'd cook it. I cheated. I was at Trader Joe's and realized this was an opportunity to try their Mandarin Orange chicken. That's their biggest selling item and supposed to be great. It's too much for me to cook for myself but if I can share it makes two meals for two people. That is so me. Looking for a way to make something I want economically viable. Know what? It's really good. I think I'll be making that again when I cook for someone else.

Then Heather was too tired to go to the show. He was up very early. So I ended up going by myself anyway. I got to the Lower East Side early, it is only one stop from Heather's on the , or and was going to get ice cream. It was hot and muggy. I was wandering about a bit and some drops fell on my head. I thought it was from an AC. It wasn't. It was rain. It started to rain hard. So much for other plans I went straight to Rockwood Music Hall to keep dry. The only ones I knew there were Robby and Natalia who was playing lap steel with him. OK I am pretty sure I have met Robbie's wife before. Her face is so familiar. But even now I can't remember her name. Why? Come on, this is an easy one. Yes you got it. It's because I'm an idiot.

I have never been to 9:30 show at Rockwood 3 that has opened doors on time. I think they should just say, doors at 9:25. It's small, it doesn't take a long time to load in. It's also the best room in Rockwood to hear music. One of the best anywhere. My only complaint is that it's too dark. It can also be a bit cool which isn't helped by my sitting near the AC. I have my official seat with my name on it. No you can't see my name but I know it's there. It's exactly where I sat at the Living Room. Front stage right.

So Robby. How do I know him? I think through Anthony. He seems to always be on my list of people I need to see more and don't. Then I run into him at NERFA and get reminded of two things. What an amazing songwriter he is and how much I like him as a person. So now I finally got around to seeing him do a gig in New York by himself. I was not disappointed. Someone in the audience said the show was worth it for the schtick. It was. It was also worth it for the music. Is he a sensitive singer/songwriter? The kind of musician I usually mock? I think he is. Of course so is Joni Mitchell and she's a goddess. The problem is not that it's an inherently bad genre, it's that it's very easy to do but very hard to do well. So you get an even higher percentage of crap than in the genres I usually go for. Most people are simply not interesting enough to write about themselves. Robbie is. Now I'm having a crisis. is it Robbie or Robby. It's Robby. I got it right before right? It isn't easy not having a brain.

The schtick is important. His songs are not exactly, what's the word, ebullient. So it provides counterpoint. Note to self, ebullient is never the word.

Robbie Robby lives in Nashville and therefore knows long time favorite and friend Amy Speace. He and Amy write together. I wish somebody had taken a video of them singing The Sea and the Shore together at NERFA. Maybe somebody did.

I could never remember where I had met Natalia but as soon as she sat down tonight I remembered. The lap steel jogged my memory. It was at Abbie Gardner's slide sessions. I think she did the second one. I only missed one show of that series. Of course Abbie told me it was the best one.

This is sad, I have mentioned Abbie, Amy, and Anthony in this entry. I used to see them all so often that they had their own macros. The need has not arisen since I got this computer a few years ago. I know life moves on and I met knew people but I'd still like them more in my life now.

The trip home was a bit of an ordeal. I took the to the but there was a problem with the . The electronic sign said it was coming in 6 minutes. Then it said delayed, then it said 10 minutes then it said 0 minute, then it didn't come. I sat down again and the dance started again. Then there was an announcement that the next train was not going to open it's doors. I saw there were firemen on it. Then it pulled out going the wrong direction. There was some problem down the line. The woman next to me was complaining how ridiculous it was. Obviously something had happened. This wasn't someone being stupid. The only issue was there could have been better communications. I ended up waiting almost an hour in a hot subway station. I got a lot of reading done.

Now to have breakfast. I think it's an omelet sort of day.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 24, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!