I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 27, 2017 - 11:02 a.m.

The Heather on The Hill

I have new writing music, the Amazon Prime All Jazz station. I found it under the genre, "Work, Study, Reading." They did a good job picking good music to write to. Dave Brubeck playing now. It's odd that complex music that can take all my concentration can also make good background music. It works with Bach too.

Yesterday went strangely. My plans were to hang out with Brianne at 5 and then meet Heather at Rockwood Music Hall 1 to see The Novelists. Two great friends and checking out a new band sounds like a great day to me.

Just as I was about to go into the shower before leaving Brianne messaged me. She couldn't come into the City. That was disappointing but on the bright side I didn't have to run out of the house then. I thought I would have to buy eggs but Bernie bought them so I didn't have to leave time for that. I just had to get to Rockwood with enough time to grab Dollar Pizza for dinner. Even though the subways are still screwed up on weekends I was able to time things right and find where there is a dollar pizza sort of on the way from Bleecker Street station. I love you can search google for "Dollar Pizza;" they recognize that it's its own class of food.

Heather texted me that she was waiting at the "skinny bar" next door. I knew that meant Rockwood 0. I got there at five to seven and found out why she wasn't in Rockwood 1. They cleared the room during the previous set. There was an invasion of bugs. We were waiting in 0 for them to give the OK to come in. The band was in there too. Heather took the bus up here just for the show. The Novelists are friends of hers and the play on her brand spanking new album, A Message in the Mess by Heather Aubrey Lloyd. Why don't you go to the CD Baby page and listen to the samples while you read this? Then buy the album. Then tell all your friends about it. Then tell them to read the entry. Got all that? I'll give you a minute to follow the link.

Where were we? Oh right. Talking to Heather in Rockwood 0 about bugs. I was a little surprised they stopped the show for little bugs. I said at CBGBs the show went on when three were cockroaches the size of small dogs scurrying around. Maybe it's because the roaches ordered drinks. We kept waiting for them to give us word of what was happening next door. It was very much not a waste of time as Heather and I got to catch up. We haven't sat together and talked in ages. I had a great time. Finally, around eight we were told the show has been canceled. Heather and the band had to head back to Baltimore I said goodbye about five times. In between two of them I went over to Mel who works the door at Rockwood to say hi and find out what's up. It was a swarm of termites. I don't know if they had to close the other stages too. The exterminators were on their way over. I was afraid they might have to close for a few days but they didn't. They are open for business today. Maeve Gilchrist was playing later last night on Stage 3. I wrote her to find out if they canceled her show too.

Coming home was easy and I made great time despite all the trains having issues. I spent three hours traveling to spend an hour with Heather. Heather traveled much further. She was well worth the trip and I listened to the album when I got home. It's great. The instrumentation includes, "kazoo, bubble wrap, soup cans, cardboard, and glockenspiel." That's enough to make me want to hear it. Don't get the wrong idea, this is not a novelty record. It was made in the experimental spirit of Sgt. Pepper and Pet Sounds. Did you buy it already? I told you to paragraphs ago.

There are challenging things I need to do this week. I feel the anxiety building in me just thinking about them. I will do my best. I had a bad day on Friday but many more good days preceding it.

I'm getting comfortable writing shorter entries. That's fine. I don't have to tag on something from my ideas bin. I can use those on another day. I've been bidding you farewell in different languages. Today it will be in Quenya. Namárië My Gentle Readers.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 27, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!