I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 23, 2014 - 10:23 a.m.

Apples to Apples, Funk to Funky

I'm starting to write before the WfUV Question of the Day and that's always a victory of sorts. I can use some victories

Where did yesterday go? I know I wasted a lot of if and never went shopping. Now I have no eggs for breakfast. That's this morning's crisis. Do I have peanut butter and bacon for breakfast or go out for eggs. I think I'll take this as an opportunity for the Pb&B. On a bagel of course.

Yesterday was Heather's birthday and she threw a dinner party. Sarah, Kate, her mother Deborah were there too. We played Apples to Apples. I had totally forgotten how to play. Kate one, the rest of us were in a three way tie for second. Three way as that was before Sarah got there.

Pasta was the main course but I of course don't eat pasta. The only reason that hasn't cost me friends is that I lost all my friends because I don't eat rice. I wrote a blog about that. I just reread it and realized is that that entry is pretty much the epitome of what it means to be me. I will link to that later but I'll finish writing about last night first. Heather knew that I wouldn't eat the pasta. She made cake frosting that only used egg whites so she had egg yolks. She knew that the reason I don�t' make hollandaise sauce is that I don't want to waste the egg whites. So she invited me to make hollandaise sauce and I ate eggs Benedict. Well OK I didn't as the supermarket didn't carry either Canadian bacon or English muffins so I had it on white bread and with ham. But it was still good. I can't just cook I can improvise. The main course of course was conversation.

Now back to that old blog post. It was from my first year blogging and is riddled with typos. I'll clean them up before I link to it. Here it is There and Back Again; A Batnose's Holiday. Make sure you read it. That's the gist of this entry. Here I was incredibly sick and went down to DC to see Dar Williams, Carey, Lawrence, and Heather. That's a different Heather. Three days later I was in the hospital and stayed there a month. That's who I am. when things are getting me down I need to remember that. I'm the guy that can be happy with a hole in his small intestine and an abscess the size of a softball. Friends and music are both magic. I haven't been happy lately. I'm not in the best shape. I'm paralyzed with anxiety again. So it's good for me to read about me being me. It's good that Brianne is doing a great job picking up the balls I'm dropping. It's good to reread The Silmarillion. I'm certainly better off than Beren and L�thien before the gates of Angband. I can't find the quote I'm looking for. I hate that. It is something about things being hopeless but not impossible. I was sure that Beren said it to L�thien at the gates of Angband but that's not where it is.

OK. I'm going to leave this edition of Wise Madness short. Just make sure to read There and Back Again; A Batnose's Holiday. It's how I prefer you thought of it. It's how I prefer to think of myself. That really was the best decision I ever made.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 23, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!