I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 19, 2015 - 12:00 p.m.

HaTikvah

No matter how long I wait these things never write themselves. There's just no justice in the world. I want to be spoiled rotten. Beulah peel me a grape. Oh right, I don't like grapes. Beulah unwrap me a Reese cup.

I post my keeper photos on Picasa Web Albums. Whenever I show a pic here that's where they are hosted. Here's my Public Gallery. That might get redirected to my Google + page. These aren't just uploaded, they are synched to the Picasa program on my computer. When I changed computers I was worried about what would happen. I looked online and there were these complicated procedures of how to resynch them. They were all unnecessary. There were automatically synched when I brought the files over from my old computer. That was a relief. It knows which pictures I starred to put on the web. Sometimes the technology works.

So now this feels like my computer. I have my photos and music including my radio playlists. I'm listening to WQXR now.

OK so what did I do yesterday? Well first I had my weekly meeting with Carolann. It's odd but I like that I have to get out of the house earlier than I usually do even if it means updating later. I like having to do something.

After the meeting I headed up to my mailbox and then to school. I sent my direct deposit forms over to payroll. I wanted to make copies first but the copying machine was broken. The Admin was not there. He never is. I was always the one to fix things when he wasn't around and so even though I'm not working there now I still did it. Well I tried but I couldn't. It said there was a paper jam and there wasn't. I took everything apart and there was no paper where the sensor said there was. It's the sensor that is broken and that I can't fix. I didn't take it further than that and call to get it fixed. I mean I don't work there so it is so much not my job.

Then instead of doing the shopping I needed and getting my watch repaired I raced home to write because I don't want to disappoint My Gentle Readers. I've been feeling happier and when I am my writing gets better. Isn't it supposed to be the other way? It works both ways, writing well makes me happy. If my mind can come up with jokes at least something is right in the world. I think the point is that I don't try and come up with jokes. They just appear in my brain. When they don't something is wrong. Is what I do jokes? Or is it just the pathetic meanderings of a disturbed mind?

I went to Trader Joe's last night. One thing I got was challah .So what am I having for brunch today? You got it, French toast.

Last night I listened to two albums that I just got, Burning Bridget Cleary's first album, Everything is Alright and Spuyten Duyvil's Social Music Hour Volume 1. That has not been officially released yet. Listening to it I recognized some guest vocals, Dena Miller, Mark and Beth's daughter, and Katherine Etzel of Bobtown. I have to confess that I didn't recognize Jagoda's drumming. Sorry Jagoda. After a few more listens I might write a review of it. After I listened to those two I listened to the The Kennedys' new album West. I thin that still has not been officially released and you can only get it at shows. Yes I'm a hipster. Not only have you never heard of my bands you can't even buy their music. I already have a number of good albums from this year that I know will make my best of 2015 list. When listening to the albums I felt the need to send messages to Maura, Beth, and Katherine telling them how much I love their new babies.

OK now to totally change the subject to the Israeli Elections. This really knocked the wind from my sails and has me reconsidering my positions on the country. I am an unapologetic Zionist. But it's a Zionism that believes in democracy and human rights. I'm all for a democratic and Jewish state. But Netanyahu has vowed to put the country on a path where those two things are incompatible. People have often compared Israel to Sparta, which is unfair. They are not a military dictatorship with no personal freedom. But they now resemble Athens and the Delian League. An enlightened democracy ruling subject peoples in the name of self-defense. They even claim a common enemy, Persia, modern day Iran. Netanyahu's moves before the election fed fear and hatred of Arabs, including the Arabs in Israel proper who have always been full citizens.

Much of the criticisms of Israel have always been driven by anti-Semitism, just as many criticisms of Obama are driven by racism. Israel has always been held to a different standard and I have always defended it. But now I find that harder to do. Israel needs an intervention, its friends need to not enable it. Making enemies of the world is not in Israel's best interest and it doesn't help it's security. I'm afraid of a future where attacks on Israel increase and that empowers the right even more which inspires more extremism. I don’t see Netanyahu having Begin and Sadat transformation.

The only hope I see is that things deteriorate at a rate where his government falls before too much damage has been done. Israel's chaotic political system might be its salvation. I hope so. HaTikvah, the Israeli national anthem means "the Hope."

As long as the Jewish spirit is yearning deep in the heart,
With eyes turned toward the East, looking toward Zion,
Then our hope - the two-thousand-year-old hope - will not be lost:
To be a free people in our land,
The land of Zion and Jerusalem.
Freedom has to be for everyone.

OK now for that French toast. Yum.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 19, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!