I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

October 31, 2016 - 12:25 p.m.

A Flash in the Ham

I'm writing this while listening to A Prairie Home Companion. It's on the archives and I just skipped past Dawes playing. I love that I can do that. Dawes is to music what Domino's is to pizza.

I did what I said I'd do yesterday, I went to Stop & Shop, just not the one I thought I'd go to. I discovered there was one on the Bronx not that hard to get to. I didn't have to go to New Rochelle. The trip isn't that much shorter but the bus or train runs far more often than the one to New Rochelle. Google suggested 3 routes once I was at Pelham Bay, the and a walk, the BX 12 and a walk or the BX 24 that drops me at the store. I figured the last option was best. I started to leave the house and the comedy of errors began. Jane told me it was going to rain so I went back upstairs to get an umbrella. When I left, I thought I didn't have to run for the bus so I didn't. Unfortunately, I did and had to wait 20 minutes for the next one. I got ice cream at the grocery store while I waited. I was dressed in a t-shirt, jeans, and sandals and was too hot. I was mad for not putting on lighter pants. I got to Pelham bay and didn't know where to catch the Bx24. The phone app said it was coming in a few minutes. I asked someone but he showed me the stop going the wrong direction. That's because I didn't know the right direction. It's a circuitous route and saying I need to go southwest was not sufficient. Both go Southwest for a stretch. I got to the right stop and found that I missed the bus and it was 20 minutes till the next one. So I took the subway. That way at least I didn't have to worry about where to get off. I knew the stop, Westchester Square. I saw that the train was express but that means after Parkchester. I wondered why I never got that when I was going into the City on weekends. But the train ran express to Parkchester. They never do that. More properly, they never do that when there isn't track work being done. I had to go to Parkchester and take the next train back which ran local. I made the 10-minute walk to the store which was easy.

The trip to the store was exciting. Why? I got grits. OK that was nice but not exciting. What was exciting is that they had what they said was a new item, TAYLOR HAM!!! I got the last one so other people are buying it. Maybe they'll keep it in stock. I got everything I needed and checked out. When I started to leave, it was raining. It wasn't just raining it was a downpour. I waited for it to let up. I checked the app to see when the bus was coming. The problem is I wasn't sure which stop I needed. There was a bunch in the area. It said the bus would get there in a few minutes. I went to the wrong spot. I missed it. Not only was it raining but the temperature dropped 14°. It was now 60° and I was cold. I went under cover. There was no bus shelter and checked the buses again. There was no coming soon. The rain had let up some more and I decided to walk back to the subway. It stopped raining by the time I got there. I was still cold and wet. The subway was fine but the 10-minute wait for the bus was unpleasant. The whole expedition was idiotic but I got rewarded for it. I got Taylor ham. I had that for breakfast this morning. I got an extra reward because Bernie made brownies!

I watched the World Series. I'm rooting harder for the Cubs than I have for any team but the Mets. They were down three games to one. I told people to not give up. They won last night! Now they just must win two in a row; for a team that won 105 games in the regular season that's not a big deal. If the teams were evenly matched they'd have a 25% chance of winning the series but they are not evening matched. The Cubs are the better team and even on the road they would be favored in each game. I will be very happy if they win.

The other night after they lost I watched The Flash. The episode is from two seasons ago. A mass murderer said, "When I was active a day without a death was like the Cubs winning the World Series, it never happened."

I watched another episode last night and picked up on something I had missed before. The Flash's team is centered at Star labs. Their competition is Mercury Labs headed by Dr. McGee. What I noticed yesterday was that Dr. McGee was played by Amanda Pays who played Dr. McGee on the last Flash TV show in the 90s. She changed a lot in the last 20 years. You might know her from Max Headroom. I had such a crush on her then. She always played the tech person on the computer helping the hero.

The new Flash would have been considered daring any time before the present. Barry Allen's unrequited love is a black woman. The police captain that's his boss is gay and engaged to another man. Nobody on the show even thinks these things are worthy of mention. People see all the bad things going on and miss how much progress we've made. The first inter-racial kiss on television was Captain Kirk kissing Uhura on Star Trek. The episode was Plato's Stepchildren. The mind controlling aliens made them kiss and the censors forced them to make it clear that Kirk was trying to resist doing it. Nichelle Nichols who was both gorgeous and cool said, "No man is going to resist kissing me.. I know I wouldn't.

I can't believe I wrote so much and so quickly. I was still trying to figure out what to write till a minute ago when I realized I've already finished this entry.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile October 31, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!