I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 12, 2016 - 11:49 a.m.

An Athenian Forest in Washington Square Park

I did something interesting yesterday that means taking a break from writing about Falcon Ridge. I am pretty sure I had things to write about that happened during the day. I now have no idea what they are. Do you know why? Yes, that's right, I'm an idiot. I knew My Gentle Readers would catch on as they are not idiots.

I do have a new friend, Ginger. Ginger is a dog. Jane and Bernie have another house guest and he has a dog. Dogs pretty much automatically love me so she's been snuggling with me. As much as I love dogs this would be better if I had the same effect on brilliant beautiful women. I love alliteration so brilliant beautiful babes would be more euphonic but I really can't bring myself to say "babes." Sure the Four Bitchin' Babes do but they are women and they are trying to be funny. It's the same with the Chicks with Dip. It feels disrespectful if I use Babes and Chicks. Awww Ginger just came over to say hello. She's a babe.

Now on to last night. Allison and I had made plans to see the Gorilla Rep's production of the Bacchae in Central Park. Because of our schedules the first time we could make it was last night. One problem with that, the Bacchae couldn't make it. The play's run ended last week. That was not a disaster. Yesterday was the opening night for this:


This is their signature production. They have been doing this as long as I've known them which I think is from the very beginning 25 years ago. I see it every year. The company had financial difficulties and was on hiatus. I don't know exactly when it started or if this was their first year back but it's the first year that I've known they are back or I've had it together enough to go. The Gorilla Rep is one of the great things about living in the City. They do Environmental Theater. This show is performed in the southwest corner of Washington Square Park. There's no stage. They perform on in the park and everyone sits on the ground in front of them. When the scene changes the actors move and the audience follows them. This is all perfect for a play that takes place largely in a forest that the characters are roaming around. Most of the lighting is actors holding flashlights. This was the first time I've seen them with small portable lights on tripods that get moved along with everything else.

Don't get the notion that this is a novelty production, it's not. This is brilliant innovative theater. I have never seen a production of A Midsummer Night's Dream that I have enjoyed more. It's why I see it every year. Some years I see it more than once. I try and bring new people to see it. If you want to see it ask me. I'll probably want to join you. There was one issue last night. I was laughing and smiling so wide my face started to hurt. I couldn't get the smile off. People laugh out loud. I laugh out loud.

There's literal magic, some of the actors playing fairies perform sleight of hand. There's fictional magic as the play is about magical beings. And there's figurative magic, the magic of art. It transforms our minds which transforms the world.

The acting was uniformly good. The ones that particularly stood out for me were Makaela Sheely as Herniia, Suzanne Tufan as Helena, Robert Gonzales Jr. as Flute/Peaseblossom, and Alex Orthwein as Bottom.

I can't imagine a better introduction to Shakespeare for middle schoolers than seeing this production. Shakespeare is always easier to understand when watching rather than reading. It's how it should always be introduced to children. The acting and directing erase much of the difficulty with the language. The broad physical humor will amuse the least intellectual students. Allison and I both thought that our friends should take their 10-year-old son to see it. I wrote them today and suggested it.

Allison and I met before the show for dinner. When we discussed where to eat I suggested Pomme Frites so I could get poutine. It's a block and a half away. That was not Allison's cup of tea and she suggested the Olive Tree which is on the same block. I checked out their menu and they sounded great. The thing is Allison was coming back from upstate and hit traffic. She was late and we didn't have time for a sit down dinner. She suggested meeting at Mamoun a falafel place. That is not my cup of tea. But you know what is right across from Mamoun? Pomme Frites! We both got what we wanted and ate in the park. If you're flexible and with the right people things just work out.

After the show Allison walked west and I walked east to the Bleecker Street stop on the . I had to stop at the bank and that was right on the way. Google Now is doing something new. It tells me when the last train I can take to catch the last bus so I can get home leaves! I just made it. It is too conservative. It has me take the the entire trip but I switch to the express and then back to the . I got to the bus stop 25 minutes before the last bus. I in fact just missed the second to last bus.

We were lucky with the weather. It didn't rain at all when we were out. I stopped at my PO Box before I met Allison and then waited in my school's library. It poured while I was there. It stopped right before I had to leave on the subway. Then minutes after I got home the skies opened again. I never got a drop of water on me. I was prepared. I had a poncho.

Today's plan is going to my psychiatrist and them if I have time and energy I'll go to Free Music Fridays at the Folk Art Museum to see Avi Wisnia. If not, I'll come home and be good and make the even for John Platt's On Your Radar.

What's today? Friday? I think it's time for bacon and eggs for breakfast. I had bacon every day at Falcon ridge so was giving it a break. I might give it one more day and have poached eggs and ham today. I will leave you hanging and let you know tomorrow. I know you are sitting on the edge of your seat till then.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 12, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!