I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 17, 2016 - 12:01 p.m.

Just Call Me Little Buddy

I didn't leave the Island yesterday which makes writing more difficult. I am reluctant to write on one political topic till I can find a more politic way of writing about it. Maybe it will come to me as I write the ephemera.

My tentative plan for yesterday was to go to the Prospect Park Bandshell to see Aoife O'Donovan, the Wood Brothers, and the third act I didn't know. I'm not a big fan of the Wood Brothers so I'd be going for Aoife. An added inducement is that Anthony da Costa is playing guitar for her now and he's practically family. The problem is that it takes me over two hours to get there and even longer to get home. I thought of going and leaving after Aoife so at least I might get back when the buses ran more frequently. I asked some friends if they were going, people that sit on the grass in the back. That way I'd feel better if I left early and it's better for the hanging out with friends part. Neither was going. I still was ready to go when I looked out the window and the weather was threatening. That did it. I decided to not go. People posted pictures of the show to torture me. People did that at the New Bedford Folk Festival too. People can be so cruel.

Instead of the concert I went to the Snug, the lovely pub down the street and consoled myself by getting one of the specialty burgers instead of the regular burger I usually get. It is 37% larger and has cheese and bacon on it. They made it perfectly and the waitress was extra nice. Then I went to Lickity Splits, the ice cream place across the street. I even remember the name of the coffee ice cream with chocolate pieces in it, Bittersweet Symphony. I highly recommend it. I get that not chocolate so you know it's special.

I watched the Met game. They lost. That always happens when I am by myself and watch the Mets. They win when I go to games at CitiField. When are they going to pay me to go to games?

I have to get off the Island today. I sound like Gilligan. It's hot and sticky. I could just go to Trader Joe's. I need something, I can't remember what. That argues against it. I might just head into the City and think of something when I get there.

My big psych problems are still there but I realized that I'm reacting less to my interpersonal issues. Perhaps the most useful groups I went to were the relationship skills, the ones I thought were the least useful. Or maybe that has nothing to do with it. One thing following another does not prove causality.

Now I'm going to make breakfast. Whose turn is it? Bacon and eggs or poached eggs? I'm going with poached.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 17, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!