I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 18, 2018 - 8:11 p.m.

Last Week Tonight

I can’t believe it too me this long to figure out. I haven’t updated all week because I have been at the WFUV pledge drive, elsewhere out of the house, or asleep since Saturday. It just hit me that i can write this on Google Docs. I will eschew my usual links as i don’t have the macros to make that easier.

Saturday night was the most exciting thing to write about. I went to Gene’s Suite Sixtieth Party. As the name implied it was at a party suite at Citi Field. This was important enough that i missed ilyAIMY at First Acoustics for it. If you remember that was a weird weather day. It was 72° when i got to the stadium and was 42 when I left. The Feels LIke was a bit above freedom. People spent a lot of time in the suite instead of the seats. My friends there were Gene & Isabel of course, their kids AJ and Katie, Sharon, Seth & Emily. Emily is Seth’s fiancee. She is also my fiancee. I proposed to her first because she made chocolate ganache. Her family was very confused when i called her my fiancee on Facebook. Don’t worry, some things you just accept without understanding. When we are all living together on the boat we will work out the details. The we includes other fiancees, and at least one wife of a fiancee. Seth is my fiancee-in-law.

I haven’t updated in days, i did a lot and what do i talk about? the workings of my deranged imagination.

The party was great. The food was great. Gene’s family made great posters, t-shirts, and tchachkes with Gene’s likeness on them. It’s was wonderful. Two things weren’t wonderful, the aforementioned weather and the baseball game, the Mets lost. I left before the game was over as i had to wake up at 5:30 the next day.

Sunday i volunteered from 7AM until 8PM. That was a long day with all my favorite shows, “Thistle & Shamrock,” “A Thousand Welcomes,” “Ceol na nGael, “Woody’s Children,” and “Sunday Supper with John Platt.” That is all the Celtic and folk shows, what WFUV played when i started listening. I lucked out because Fred was here and could drive me home. I got home, set my alarm for 8 hours later, and went to sleep. Then i was back at the station early Monday. I only stayed until noon as I had to see my psychiatrist. The problem is that I didn’t have an appointment. She was ill on Friday so i had to go to her walk-in hours on Monday. I spent hours waiting and then had to go to the drug store to pick up my prescription. I was home after 6. I could have blogged then but i was tired so i warmed up dinner that i had taken home FUV, watched some TV, played on the computer then went to bed as i had to get up at 4:30 the next day to volunteer. That led to an idiot story. The plan was for me to work until 5 then to head down to Citi Field to see the Mets. At 8 AM i put my hand in my pocket to get out the bottle opener on my keychain and realized that i had no keys, i left them home. That meant going home before i went to the Met game as Jane would be asleep when i got home from the game. So I went home, got my keys, and turned right around. Once again it was freezing at the game. Once again the Mets lost The Mets have lost only 4 games this year. I’ve been to onlyi 3 games; they lost two of those. The Mets should pay me to not go to games.

Today I’m working 8:30 until 6:00. I’ll get home, shower, watch a little TV, then go to sleep, rinse and repeat. I have to wake up at 5:00 tomorrow. It’s a lot of hours but I love doing this. I enjoy the people here and i enjoy being good at supervising. I’d like to think I’m good at blogging too. Now let’s see if I can figure out how to post this from here.

After all this I can’t copy and paste this. I will have to wait till i get home and open it there and post this.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 18, 2018
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!