I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 12, 2017 - 11:01 a.m.

The Man In The White Suit

Last night was the WFUV volunteers and graduating seniors volunteer party. That's always a highlight of my social calendar. When the party was held on the library terrace I would wear my white suit. That didn't work when it was a picnic on the grass. I missed it last year but this year it was inside the McGinley Center; the question was, do I bring the suit out of mothballs? I brought it up on the volunteer Facebook group and the response was positive. Robin who has never seen me in it said, "Go big or go home Horvendile." I can't disappoint Robin so I wore it. I went for all white, a white shirt, white socks, and white sneakers. I am the symbol of City Folk Purity.

I took two buses there, the same ones I take to get to Metro North. It was close to rush hour and Google told me it would take over an hour. Google was wrong. I got there early but I wanted to get there early. I entered the campus through one of the small gates. Students and Staff have electronic passes to enter Fordham. Guests have to check in. The guard asked me what I was there for. I told her the WFUV party. She hadn't been informed of it. Did she call and check to see if I was honest? No. When someone approaching middle-aged (stop snickering) dressed in a white suit says he's going to a party you believe him.

I was not the first one there, Ken, Lori not LORi, Rona, and Bobbi Jo beat me there; Howard, and Mike came in with me. We sat at the same table. Lori of course sat almost as far from me as possible because she hates me.

When five-thirty rolled around, the official start time people started rolling in. Gary and Brian rolled in too. Yes, I'm implying that they are not people. I am contractually obliged to show them no respect. We are the old-timers.

Jim showed up late because he was held up at work. I was nice to him, I saw it was a rough day. See I have a heart. I saved my digs for later.

It's me; it was a party; what do I have to write about? The food! There was candy on every table. More importantly there was a movie theater popcorn machine! The theme of the party was movie music. I know I should be careful but I couldn't resist. I had popcorn. I had tons of candy. Linda admonished me to save room for dinner. I said, "yes, mom." Linda is the station admin and is the mom. Since the Crohn's attack I've been in my bottomless maw mode. I did not heed her warning and had no trouble eating, and eating and eating. Dinner was excellent, I had hanger steak and mashed potatoes. There were leftovers. I should have taken more. There was also chocolate, chocolate chip cake and Milano cookies. I did not stop eating.

There's a thank you and award ceremony for the seniors. I was surprise how few I was friendly with. I always forget students' names but I promise that I'll learn them before they graduate. The party is my last chance. I remembered Blain, Kim, and Sarah's names! I even remembered them now. I always remember Meghan's but she had to leave early and I never saw her. I remembered Mike and Nick's names but forgot Rowan's. I told her that I'd learn it before she graduates. That's next year.

They always honor one volunteer and this year it was Hara who started a few years after me.

This year's game was movie music bingo. We were given cards with the names of songs from movies. Parts of songs were played and you marked the songs on your card. Guess who won the first round. Come on guess. ME! I have won so many of these things over the years. People always shout fix. I was happy that I won on a song that I love and recognized from only a few notes, The Third Man theme. Zithers rule.

On the second game Jim shouted "Bingo!" now people were really calling fix. It was. He didn't really have bingo. Then Robin shouted "Bingo" She too was mistaken. They had misidentified songs. Finally, George, the news director, shouted, "Bingo!" and had it. If he hadn't I was going to shout, "Fake News!" Then I realized I should have thought of that when Robin, the morning news announcer got it wrong. We always remember the ones that got away.

I was lucky, I got a ride home from Kerri. She lives not that far away from me. Coming home I might have had to wait half an hour for the second bus so this was appreciated. I was back in about 20 minutes and had the pleasure of her company.

I used to be such a wallflower. I still can be but not on my home turf and WFUV is my home turf. I hyper mingle and try to make sure to talk to everyone I know. I had just talked to John and Marty at John Platt's On Your Radar on Tuesday but talked to them again. We could compare notes. I got some professional advice from John on preparing the radio show I'm going to ask for on WFDU. I was a social butterfly. People complimented me on my clothes. Who kidnapped high school and college Horvendile and replaced him with this guy?

I have to feed the bottomless maw now. Then I'm off to therapy, then on to Jersey City to see Cassie and Maggie at Spiral Sounds, aka Gidge and Loyse's house.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 12, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!