I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 21, 2013 - 10:59 a.m.

The Summer of FUV

Now is my chance to get caught up with my blogging. I was very busy but I don't actually have that much to say about what happened yesterday. We'll see how it goes.

Yesterday was WfUV annual one day end of spring drive. I did my usual 6 AM to 6 PM shift. Because I am in Spanish Harlem I got to sleep the latest I've slept to get there at 6 AM since I had a car and before I started driving Nora. I set my alarm for 5:05. Yes that would leave me time to get there a little after 6 AM if I took the Metro North. in the old days I'd get there early when I woke up that late. But still as a carless person this isn't bad. I got home from the Suzanne Vega show around 10 so theoretically I could get seven hours of sleep. But the internet was acting up and I waited forever to get some things done. I did fall asleep while waiting for a page to load. I think I got into bed at 11:30. But then some time after 1 AM I woke up and had to go to the bathroom and couldn't get back to sleep. I went online and saw that Honor was on. I talked to her for a bit and asked her to sing me a lullaby telepathically. She said she put it in pill form. Whatever it is it worked as I went back to bed and fell asleep.

In the morning something that usually happens, happened, that still surprises me. I woke up on 4:51 without the alarm. How does my body know to do that? that was early so I could take my time getting ready. I took too long and just missed the subway. I wanted to grab a coffee at Dunkin' Donuts but time was tight when I got to Harlem to switch to the MetroNorth. On yes, the only thing that let me sleep late was my willingness to pay over $8 for a 9 minute trip on the railroad. As I said, time was tight and I saw there was McDonalds closer to the DD and they are faster there so I decided to go with that. They actually have good coffee. The sign said open 24 hours. The sign lied. I wasted time trying every door. They were all locked. It was open 24 hours but not in a row. By then it was too late to risk going to DD. I bought my ticket and I did have three minutes to spare so many I could have gotten coffee but I'd feel rushed and if there was an issue with the ticket machine I'd have to pay the penalty for buying the ticket on board.

I got the station and had a looooong day. I held up pretty well. I always try and list what friends were there. I could have cheated and photocopied the volunteer list. I should have done that. I of course didn't. Jim is of course a given. We've been working on our act for almost 20 years. I still consider him a newbie, Stephen was there and Victoria. I told Victoria I'd write about her. See I did! Too bad I didn't know her when I lived in Bayside and had a car. She lives right on the way to the station from my old house.

Jill doesn't take calls but does the tally on the computer. She's one of my oldest volunteer friends. Her youngest daughter is graduating high school, I don't know how that can be. She was just a small child when I met her and I haven't matured at all.

OK I'm totally blanking on who else was there. We know that doesn't mean I don't love you. It means that I'm an idiot.

OK I'll try and list who else was there and not worry about what shift. I know that David was there but think it might have been the second shift. When did Hara get there? Lori not LORi, Rona and Bob came for the third shift as did Brian. talk about working on schtick. Brian and I have been doing our Laurel and Hardy for 20 years. I hope it amuses other people half as much as it amuses me.

OH how could I forget Bob? He was there early though not at the start. I went into the Kitchen and saw a tin of M&M cookies and knew that meant he was there. I did NOT make a bee line fror the cookies and eat some. No I didn't all of a sudden learn self control. I knew that if he were there then there would probably be Dark Chocolate Dove Bars in the freezer. There were! I can't believe I only had one. I'm disappointed in myself.

Now it's coming back to me. There was Marty and Jim. No not that Jim, the other Jim.

Sam, short for Samantha, has been the volunteer coordinator for years. She just graduated and shared the duty this drive with the new coordinator Laura. I made sure to set Laura straight from the get go. The most important part of the job is loving me more than she loves Lori not LORi.

It would be sad that Sam was leaving except that she isn�t'. She's a lifer. She is going to grad school at Fordham. We'll keep seeing her. I tease a lot but I get attached to the students, I look forward to seeing Sam and Joe. I miss not having Kathy there even though I saw here the night before.

The staff would be like coworkers except I actually like them. We were figuring it out, Chuck, Ginger, Darren, and Corny, are the only ones there longer than me. To my mind everyone else is a newbie. I remember Rita getting started like it was yesterday.

It was a slow day for calls but as always rewarding. I even liked all three meals! Usually I just eat a lot of breakfast. That's always good.

I managed to not get too much swelling of my feet. I kept my feet up when I remembered. I still did damage. My knees hurt. I couldn't bend to pick up a quarter from the floor just now.

Don't say I'm getting old. I feel just like I did when I was 18. In many ways I feel better. I just have arthritis. Maybe once I get insurance I'll take something that can help it. I don't let it slow me down. I just let it stop me from picking up quarters. I'm a bit disappointed I couldn't pick it up with my toes. If there were a carpet it would not have been difficult but it's on a hardwood floor.

OK I have to call about some apartments. Just saying that gave me anxiety. That's a real problem. Arthritis I can deal with.

I'll relieve my tension by talking about my Fantasy Baseball Team, the Nashional Batnoses. it is very good for that. Right now we are in second place a mere point out of first. I am very happy with my judgment. My plan was to earn 40 points with pitching (out of 48) and have average hitting with 26 points. The reality is 40 points pitching and 24 hitting points. Two of my best hitters have been hurt most of the year so it isn't surprising I'm off a few points even though Chris Davis is having a monster year. The team does a great job of getting my mind off my troubles.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 21, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!