I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 03, 2016 - 11:07 a.m.

Falcon Ridge Nirvana

What am I writing about today? I didn't leave the Island. One of these days I'll do a photo essay on City Island. Not today.

Know what I did? I opened my box labeled "Camping." That sounds like it's no big deal when I'm leaving to go camping tomorrow at Falcon Ridge. It would be for someone without anxiety. For me it was, "What will I do if I'm missing my sleeping bag or my air mattress or my head lamp … ?" I ended up doing what I do when getting into a cold pool, I dived in. Know what I found? I had all those things! All I'm missing is my mag light. Jane gave me a super cool key chain flashlight that you turn a crank to charge. I'm all set. In my box of summer clothes, I found my convertible pants, the ones that go from shorts to long pants. I found my Falcon Ridge Towel. Sure, I can bring another towel but this is tradition; I bought it at my first or second festival when I forgot to bring one. This is real. I'm going to Falcon Ridge tomorrow an all is right in the world. Fred is picking me up and we'll be heading home.

I did something new yesterday; I went up on the roof. I should do that whenever the weather is nice. It's beautiful up there. I went up for the fireworks but this was the first time I went up by myself. The roof is exactly the kind of place I like to be alone. I can commune with not quite nature but the world. If I had a mountain I'd climb to the top and watch the world from there.

It was Tuesday so I went to the Snug for half-priced burgers. The waitress knows me now. I get treated like a regular. Her smile is as good as the burger. Come visit on a Tuesday night and you can join me. Then I went over to Lickity Split for a hot fudge sundae. Who remembers what flavors I get? It's bittersweet symphony and chocolate. This will be on the test. I should make a Wise Madness quiz. I'm putting that in my idea bin.

For breakfast I made a sausage omelet. I'm getting better and making them. How can that be as I've been making them for years? I love that every time I have one it's still special. Oh I know why it's better, I started adding garlic salt. Thank you Emily. She's the one that got me hooked on it. She is already at Falcon Ridge so won't read this till she gets back.

Notice I'm steering clear of politics and my personal problems. I'm preparing for Falcon Ridge nirvana. I'll find something to pack my stuff in and be all ready to be picked up by Fred tomorrow. I'll be on the road in 24 hours. Then I'll get to see my Budgiedome and Steeple Tent families. I'll see all my Falcon Ridge friends.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 03, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!